设计指南4676

DS8500 HART调制解调器


摘要:本应用笔记介绍了如何在过程控制中使用DS8500 HART调制解调器。本文讨论了DS8500与微控制器和4–20mA电流环的连接,以确保正确的HART通信。

引言

本应用笔记介绍了用于HART®通信的DS8500单芯片调制解调器,本文应与DS8500数据资料配合使用。不同应用可能要求不同的参数指标,本文介绍的参考设计只是用于过程控制电路的一个基本例子。

HART概述

高速可寻址远程传感器(HART)通信广泛用于数字信号传输,叠加在4–20mA电流环的模拟信号上。HART协议基于相位连续的频移键控(FSK)技术。比特0调制在2200Hz正弦信号,比特1调制在1200Hz正弦信号,波特率为1200bps。这两个频率可以非常容易地叠加到模拟电流环信号上,模拟信号范围为:直流至10Hz,不会影响其它信号。HART协议的独特优势使其能够在同一线路传输模拟和数字信号。

DS8500 HART调制解调器

DS8500是一款用于过程控制的HART调制解调器,提供连续相位的FSK调制和解调。这款具有丰富功能的低功耗调制解调器完全满足HART通信基金会设定的物理层规范。DS8500具有诸多功能,使用户能够方便、高效地设计具备HART调制解调功能的过程控制系统。
  • 可靠的信号侦测
  • 极少的外部元件
  • 正弦输出信号
  • 低功耗
  • 标准的3.6864MHz晶体
内置数字信号处理技术支持可靠的FSK_IN信号侦测;极少的外部元件用于将HART信号从噪声中提取出来。FSK_OUT为正弦信号,在系统中产生最低的谐波失真。

图1所示为DS8500在智能变送器应用中的顶层原理框图。设计突出展示了HART调制解调器及其外围IC之间的接口。

图1. 智能变送器通过DS8500 HART调制解调器与系统微控制器通信
图1. 智能变送器通过DS8500 HART调制解调器与系统微控制器通信

DS8500的基本工作原理

时钟

DS8500需要一个精度为±1%的3.6864MHz时钟作为输入源,以确保系统正常工作。图2给出了一个典型的时钟电路。当XCEN置为高电平时,用户可将外部时钟直接接到XTAL1引脚。如果需要外部连接3.6864MHz晶体,XCEN应该置为低电平,并将晶体连接到XTAL1和XTAL2之间。

图2. 晶体与DS8500的连接
图2. 晶体与DS8500的连接

微控制器接口

HART协议要求信号通过指定的11位UART格式进行通信:一个起始位、8个数据位、一个校验位和一个停止位。DS8500的调制和解调电路需要与微控制器的UART接口连接,以满足协议要求。

解调模式下,DS8500需要一个有效的UART起始信号,用于同步数字通信。HART调制解调器和微控制器之间的接口如图1所示。按照图1所示框图,微控制器必须包含支持HART通信的软件协议栈。D_IN为DS8500的数字信号数据输入,调制后通过FSK_OUT输出。DS8500输出的数字信号数据通过D_OUT输出,该数据已经从FSK_IN信号进行解调。RST接收微控制器的请求信号,启动调制解调器的解调(Rx)或调制(Tx)模式。

/RST为DS8500提供复位信号,确保所有内部寄存器和滤波器从已知的默认状态开启。OCD为载波检测信号,确定解调器输入端是否具有幅度有效的FSK信号。OCD为逻辑高电平时,说明FSK_IN信号幅度大于120mV;逻辑低电平则说明FSK_IN输入信号的幅度小于80mV或没有载波信号。也可以利用微控制器为DS8500提供3.6864MHz时钟。

调制波形

图3所示为调制模式下的DS8500,D_IN为调制解调器输入,FSK_OUT为调制信号输出。数据以11位UART格式提供。

图3. 调制波形
图3. 调制波形

解调波形

图4所示为解调模式下的DS8500,FSK_IN为调制解调器的输入,D_OUT为解调输出,连接到UART。

图4. 解调波形
图4. 解调波形

外部滤波器

利用DS8500的数字功能和内置数字滤波器,只需少数外部无源器件即可实现调制解调功能。

图5可以看出,在接收和发送侧只需很少的外部元件,DS8500解调器只需一个简单的、截止频率为10kHz的低通滤波器(R3、C3)和截止频率为480Hz的高通滤波器(C2、R2),用于从模拟信号中提取HART信号并分离干扰信号。R1和R2构成的分压电阻为DS8500的接收侧电路提供VREF/2输入偏置电压,下列RC值只是一个示例;选择不同的RC值可以满足不同应用中的低通、高通滤波器的截止频率要求。

外部元件配合内部滤波器能够抑制低频模拟信号,避免对数字接收信号的干扰。除此之外,还能够有效衰减HART频带以外的高频干扰。

图5. 接收/发送侧的外部元件
图5. 接收/发送侧的外部元件

DS8500从机或主机

DS8500调制解调器可以用于HART通信的从机侧或主机侧。典型情况下,在从机侧,HART调制解调器是智能变送单元的一部分;在主机侧,调制解调器是HART主机调制解调器线缆的一部分,将中央控制单元或手持单元连接到电流环。图6给出了主机、从机以及电流环之间的接口。

图6. HART装置连接
图6. HART装置连接

图7所示电路采用DS8500作为HART从机和智能过程发送器所需的顶层模块。以温度变送器为例,变送器的传感器对系统温度进行测量,以电流或电压形式将数据传递给ADC。ADC随后将这些模拟信号转化成微控制器能够处理的等效数字信号。微控制器提供远程存储和计算,典型情况下,微控制器是HART协议栈的主机并负责协议实施,还用于处理HART调制解调器的数据。微控制器提供传感器校准、线性化处理和信号调理。DAC主要用于驱动电流环。

图7. DS8500在HART通信的从机侧。D_IN通过微控制器UART接收数据,D_OUT发送数据至UART。/RST提供DS8500复位;OCD为载波检测信号,确定解调器输入是否存在有效幅度的FSK信号。
图7. DS8500在HART通信的从机侧。D_IN通过微控制器UART接收数据,D_OUT发送数据至UART。/RST提供DS8500复位;OCD为载波检测信号,确定解调器输入是否存在有效幅度的FSK信号。

在主机侧,DS8500可以作为主机调制解调器的一部分,放置在中心控制单元或手持HART通信机的位置。图8所示为主机侧配置,这种情况下,DS8500通过RS-232串口与PC通信。HART协议通常由安装在计算机上的软件支持。

图8. DS8500置于HART通信的主机侧。D_IN通过微控制器的UART接收数据,D_OUT发送数据到UART。/RST提供DS8500复位;OCD为载波检测信号,确定解调器输入是否存在有效幅度的FSK信号。
图8. DS8500置于HART通信的主机侧。D_IN通过微控制器的UART接收数据,D_OUT发送数据到UART。/RST提供DS8500复位;OCD为载波检测信号,确定解调器输入是否存在有效幅度的FSK信号。



Maxim不对Maxim产品以外的任何电路的使用负责。本文推荐的电路不需要授权,Maxim保留在任何时刻、没有任何通报的前提下对电路及其指标进行修改的权利。

HART是HART通信基金会的注册商标。



相关型号
DS8500 HART调制解调器 免费样品  


下一步
EE-Mail 订阅EE-Mail,接收关于您感兴趣的新文档的自动通知。

© Oct 21, 2010, Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.
The content on this webpage is protected by copyright laws of the United States and of foreign countries. For requests to copy this content, contact us.

APP 4676: Oct 21, 2010
设计指南4676, AN4676, AN 4676, APP4676, Appnote4676, Appnote 4676

TUTORIAL 4676

Introduction to the DS8500 HART Modem

Jun 09, 2010

Abstract: This application note describes how to use of DS8500 HART modem for a process-control application. The article explains how to interface the DS8500 to a microcontroller and 4–20mA current loop to ensure proper HART communication.

Introduction

This application note introduces the DS8500 single-chip modem for HART® communication. This document should be used in conjunction with the DS8500 data sheet. While the specific requirements for an application can vary, the reference design shown here is a basic example for implementing a process-control circuit.

HART Overview

Highway Addressable Remote Transducer (HART) communication is a commonly used mode of transmission for digital signals that are superimposed on the analog signal of a 4–20mA current loop. The HART protocol is based on the phase continuous frequency shift keying (FSK) technique. Bit 0 is modulated to a 2200Hz sinusoidal signal, and bit 1 is modulated to a 1200Hz sinusoidal signal with a baud rate of 1200bps. These two frequencies can easily be superimposed on the analog current-loop signal, which is in the range of DC to 10Hz, without affecting either signal. This unique nature of the HART protocol enables simultaneous analog and digital communication on the same wire.

DS8500 HART Modem

The DS8500 is a HART modem that provides phase-continuous FSK modulation and demodulation for process-control applications. This device is a feature-rich low-power modem that satisfies the physical layer specifications set by the HART Communication Foundation. The DS8500 has many features that allow the user to easily and effectively design a process-control system that requires a HART modem.
  • Reliable signal detection
  • Few external components
  • Sinusoidal output signal
  • Low power consumption
  • Standard 3.6864MHz crystal
An internal, digital-signal-processing technique enables reliable FSK_IN signal detection; very few external components are required to separate a HART signal from the noise. FSK_OUT is a sinusoidal signal that provides the lowest harmonic distortion to the system.

Figure 1 shows a top-level block diagram of the DS8500 in an intelligent process transmitter. The design highlights the interface between the HART modem and other external ICs.

Figure 1. An intelligent process transmitter features the DS8500 HART modem communicating with a system microcontroller.
Figure 1. An intelligent process transmitter features the DS8500 HART modem communicating with a system microcontroller.

Basic DS8500 Operation

Clock

The DS8500 requires a 3.6864MHz clock as an input source with ±1% accuracy to guarantee proper operation. Figure 2 shows a typical circuit for clock source. When XCEN is set high, the user can drive an external clock directly onto the XTAL1 pin. If an external 3.6864MHz crystal is desired, XCEN should be set low and the crystal needs to be connected between XTAL1 and XTAL2.

Figure 2. Crystal connection for the DS8500.
Figure 2. Crystal connection for the DS8500.

Microcontroller Interface

The HART protocol requires signals to be communicated in a specific 11-bit UART format: a start bit, 8 data bits, one parity bit, and a stop bit. The modulator and the demodulator blocks of the DS8500 need to interface with a microcontroller UART to satisfy the protocol requirement.

In demodulator mode, the DS8500 expects a valid UART start signal to synchronize the data communication. The interface between the HART modem and the microcontroller is also shown in Figure 1. Referring back to Figure 1, the microcontroller must contain the HART software stack required for communication. D_IN is the digital-signal data input to the DS8500 which will modulate it to an FSK_OUT signal. D_OUT is the digital-signal data output from the DS8500 that has been demodulated from an FSK_IN signal. RTS receives the microcontroller's request to initiate the demodulate (Rx) or modulate (Tx) mode of the modem.

Active-low RST provides a reset to the DS8500 and ensures that all the internal registers and filters start from a known default value. OCD is a carrier-detect signal that determines an FSK signal with a valid amplitude at the input of the demodulator. A logic high on OCD indicates that the FSK_IN signal amplitude is greater than 120mV; a logic low indicates that the FSK_IN signal amplitude is less than 80mV or that there is no carrier signal. Optionally, the microcontroller can provide a 3.6864MHz clock to the DS8500.

Modulator Waveform

Figure 3 shows the DS8500 in modulate mode where D_IN is the input to the modem and FSK_OUT is the modulated output. The data is provided in an 11-bit UART format.

Figure 3. Modulator waveform.
Figure 3. Modulator waveform.

Demodulator Waveform

Figure 4 shows the DS8500 in demodulate mode where FSK_IN is the input to the modem and D_OUT is the output to the UART.

Figure 4. Demodulator waveform.
Figure 4. Demodulator waveform.

External Filters

Due to the digital nature of DS8500 and its built-in digital filters, the number of external passive components required for modem operation is greatly reduced.

Figure 5 shows the few external components needed on the receive and transmit sides. The demodulator in DS8500 requires just a simple lowpass filter with a cutoff frequency of 10kHz (R3, C3) and a highpass filter with a cutoff frequency of 480Hz (C2, R2) to separate the HART signal from the analog signal and interferences. The resistor-divider formed by R1 and R2 provides an input bias voltage of VREF/2 to the DS8500's receive-side circuitry. The RC values shown below are just an example; a different set of RC values can be used, if the cutoff frequencies of lowpass and highpass filters are met.

Together these external components and the internal filters reject the low-frequency analog signals and prevent them from compromising digital reception. In addition, high-frequency components are also attenuated to prevent interference above the HART extended frequency band.

Figure 5. Receive/transmit side external components.
Figure 5. Receive/transmit side external components.

DS8500 as Slave or Master

The DS8500 modem can be used in either the slave side or the master side of HART communication. Typically, on the slave side the HART modem is part of the intelligent process transmitter unit; on the master side the modem is part of the HART master modem cable that connects the central control unit or the handheld unit to the current loop. Figure 6 shows the interface between master, slave, and current loop.

Figure 6. HART devices connections.
Figure 6. HART devices connections.

Figure 7 shows a HART slave using DS8500 circuitry and the top-level blocks necessary for an intelligent process transmitter. A temperature process transmitter serves as an example for this circuit. The sensor on the process transmitter measures the system temperature in current or voltage and then passes the data to the ADC. The ADC, in turn, converts these analog signals to digital equivalents for the microcontroller to process. The microcontroller provides remote memory along with computation power. The microcontroller typically hosts the HART stack and is responsible for the protocol implementation; it also processes the digital data from the HART modem. Microcontroller capabilities can also be used for sensor calibration, linearization and signal conditioning. The DAC is primarily responsible for driving the current loop.

Figure 7. DS8500 on the slave side of HART communication. D_IN receives data from the microcontroller's UART. D_OUT transmits data to the UART. Active-low RST is the DS8500 reset. OCD is a carrier-detect signal that determines a FSK signal with a valid amplitude at the input of the demodulator.
Figure 7. DS8500 on the slave side of HART communication. D_IN receives data from the microcontroller's UART. D_OUT transmits data to the UART. Active-low RST is the DS8500 reset. OCD is a carrier-detect signal that determines a FSK signal with a valid amplitude at the input of the demodulator.

On the master side, the DS8500 can be part of the master modem that resides either on the central control unit or the handheld HART communicator. Figure 8 shows the master-side configuration. In this case, the DS8500 communicates to the PC through an RS-232 serial port. The HART protocol is usually supported by software that can be installed on the computer.

Figure 8. DS8500 on the master side of HART communication. D_IN receives data from the microcontroller's UART. D_OUT transmits data to the UART. Active-low RST is the DS8500 reset. OCD is a carrier-detect signal that determines a FSK signal with a valid amplitude at the input of the demodulator.
Figure 8. DS8500 on the master side of HART communication. D_IN receives data from the microcontroller's UART. D_OUT transmits data to the UART. Active-low RST is the DS8500 reset. OCD is a carrier-detect signal that determines a FSK signal with a valid amplitude at the input of the demodulator.



Maxim cannot assume responsibility for use of any circuitry other than circuitry entirely embodied in a Maxim product. No circuit patent licenses are implied. Maxim reserves the right to change the circuitry and specifications without notice at any time.

HART is a registered trademark of the HART Communication Foundation.



Related Parts
DS8500 HART Modem Free Samples  


Next Steps
EE-Mail Subscribe to EE-Mail and receive automatic notice of new documents in your areas of interest.
Download Download, PDF Format (104kB)  
Share
Other Channels  Email this page to an associate or friend. 



APP 4676: Jun 09, 2010
TUTORIAL 4676, AN4676, AN 4676, APP4676, Appnote4676, Appnote 4676

Share



More