应用笔记4268

超小型UCSP™封装器件改善便携设备的电池管理

Maurizio Gavardoni, 产品定义

摘要:这篇应用笔记主要讨论智能电话、手机及其它便携设备中的电池管理。介绍了如何利用简单的超小尺寸、超低功耗器件(例如:电流检测放大器和一个比较器)解决电池剩余电量的估算以及电池过流保护等问题。

引言

智能电话、手机及其它便携设备要求越来越小的外形尺寸和功耗。同时,设备的复杂性和功能却持续增加。由此可见,每个功能电路所能占用的空间正在以惊人的速度下降。

这篇应用笔记介绍了一个简单、节省空间的方法,用于解决便携产品的两个主要问题。首先介绍其高精度、超低功耗的电池剩余电量估算功能;然后介绍其结构紧凑的低功耗Li+电池过流保护功能。

Li+电池电流监测

精确测量负载的电流损耗可以估算Li+电池的剩余电量,在Li+电池和负载之间连接一个小的检流电阻,可以在电阻上产生正比于负载电流的压降。检流放大器用于检测电阻上的压降(典型值为几十mV),并根据模/数转换器(ADC)的动态范围对信号进行放大,得到适当的输出电压。这种转换器通常集成在RF芯片组或电源管理集成电路(PMIC)内,检流放大器应尽可能采用同相配置。这种应用对电路要求主要有两点:小尺寸和低功耗,这也是便携设备极具吸引力的特性。

图1所示为MAX9938检流放大器,室温下(25°C),器件具有低于1µA (最大值)的超低静态电流,采用微型1mm x 1mm、4焊球UCSP (超晶片级封装)。晶片级封装是一种IC封装工艺,用焊球代替引脚,从而获得最小的封装尺寸¹。检流放大器的低输入失调电压能够保证检流电阻的压降最小,从而使检流电阻本身的功耗降至最小。

在智能电话等典型的便携式设备中,发射模式下的峰值电流可能达到1A。假设ADC的满量程电压为2.5V,对于固定增益为50的MAX9938F,可以使用50mΩ的检流电阻。因此,检流电阻两端的最大压降为50mV,最大功耗是50mW。采用最大输入失调电压小于500µV的放大器,由此引入的误差将限制在峰值电流的1%以内。

如果系统要求更高的检测精度,可以使用100mΩ的检流电阻和固定增益为25的MAX9938T。失调误差可以减小到峰值电流的0.5%,但检流电阻的功耗加倍。

图1. MAX9938F检流放大器用于测量电池电流,而MAX9061比较器用于检测过流事件。
图1. MAX9938F检流放大器用于测量电池电流,而MAX9061比较器用于检测过流事件。

过流保护

如果电路中使用了故障元件,或者有些情况同时启动过多的软件操作,可能会发生过流。无论是哪种原因,必须以中断形式将这种故障状况通知中央处理器。

便携应用中,最好采用MAX9061比较器实现过流保护(图1)。MAX9061采用创新设计,由作用在同相输入端的基准电压为其内部电路供电,该电压可以在0.9V至5.5V范围内。反相输入可以低至-0.3V,高达5.5V,与基准电压无关。采用漏极开路输出,所以需要外部上拉电阻,多数情况下可以借助微控制器的内部上拉电阻。独特的创新架构使得该比较器可以集成在超小尺寸的1mm x 1mm、4焊球UCSP封装内。

图1中,MAX9061的输入连接到检流放大器的输出,最大电压为2.5V,该电压对应于峰值电池电流。基准电压可以连接到电压高于峰值输入的低压差(LDO)线性稳压器,例如2.7V。当MAX9061输入高于基准电压时,比较器输出被置为低电平,产生一次中断。

MAX9061除了具有尺寸等同于2个0402电阻的小封装优势外,还具有超低功耗,仅消耗100nA (最大值)的偏置电流。为降低电流,可以使用尽可能大的上拉电阻,因为中断是在比较器的下降沿产生的,下降时间与上拉电阻的阻值无关。如果需要极性相反的输出,可以选择MAX9060,当基准电压高于输入电压时,比较器输出低电平。

电路测试

对图1电路进行测试,利用一个电压源代替电池,假设Li+电池充满时的最高电压为4.2V,该电源经过检流电阻为负载提供1A的电流。电压源可以按照电池放电的规律逐渐降至2.8V。表1给出了测试结果,图2为MAX9938F的增益曲线,利用两个测试点,可以得到实际器件测试的增益误差为0.21%。

表1. MAX9938F的输入(VSENSE)和输出(VOUT)测量
VBAT (V) VSENSE (mV) VOUT (V)
4.5 53.777 2.6847
4.3 51.807 2.5865
4.2 50.639 2.5283
4.0 48.18 2.4054
3.8 45.674 2.2805
3.6 43.518 2.1728
3.4 41.142 2.0544
3.2 38.621 1.9285
3.0 35.997 1.7977
2.8 33.734 1.6847

图2. MAX9938F的增益曲线
图2. MAX9938F的增益曲线

然后将电压源设置在4.5V以上,模拟大于1A的过流条件。图3所示为MAX9061的响应特性,产生一次中断。

图3. MAX9061在过流条件下产生从高到低的中断信号
图3. MAX9061在过流条件下产生从高到低的中断信号

结论

目前,随着便携产品的外形尺寸越来越小,对高精度、紧凑IC的需求也不断增加。这篇应用笔记介绍了如何利用微小的、4焊球UCSP封装的检流放大器和比较器实现简单的电池管理功能,例如:电池剩余电量估算和过流保护。



¹关于Maxim UCSP封装的更多信息,请参见应用笔记1891:“晶片级封装(WLP)及其应用”。

UCSP是Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.的商标。



相关型号
MAX4372 低成本、UCSP/SOT23封装、微功耗、高边电流检测放大器,带有电压输出 免费样品  
MAX9938 1µA、4焊球UCSP/SOT23封装、高精度电流检测放大器 免费样品  


下一步
EE-Mail 订阅EE-Mail,接收关于您感兴趣的新文档的自动通知。

© Oct 18, 2010, Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.
The content on this webpage is protected by copyright laws of the United States and of foreign countries. For requests to copy this content, contact us.

APP 4268: Oct 18, 2010
应用笔记4268, AN4268, AN 4268, APP4268, Appnote4268, Appnote 4268

APPLICATION NOTE 4268

Ultra-Small UCSP™ Devices Improve Battery Management in Portable Applications

By:  Maurizio Gavardoni, Product Definer
Jun 29, 2010

Abstract: This application note focuses on battery management in smartphones, cellular phones, and other portable devices. It describes how to solve the problems of estimating remaining battery life and implementing protection from battery overcurrent conditions with very simple, ultra-small and ultra-low-power devices such as a current-sense amplifier and a comparator.

Introduction

Smartphones, cellular phones, and other portable devices require increasingly smaller form factors and ultra-low power consumption. At the same time, the complexity and number of features in such equipment continues to increase. Consequently, the space available for each function is diminishing at an amazing rate.

This application note presents simple, space-saving methods for addressing two common features required by portable applications. First, it describes a highly accurate, ultra-low-power solution for estimating the remaining battery life. Then, it details a compact, power-saving solution for protecting the circuitry and Li+ battery from overcurrent conditions.

Li+ Battery-Current Monitoring

The remaining Li+ battery life can be estimated by accurately measuring the current that is constantly drawn by the load. A small sense resistor can be inserted between the Li+ battery and the load, and that produces a voltage that is proportional to the load current. A current-sense amplifier can then be used to sense this small voltage (typically several tens of mV) and to amplify it in order to produce an output voltage that fits within the dynamic range of an analog-to-digital converter (ADC). Such a converter is typically inside the RF chipset or power-management integrated circuit (PMIC). The current-sense amplifier should be as noninvasive as possible; therefore, two fundamental requirements are small size and low power consumption, both of which are very attractive features for portable device makers.

Figure 1 shows the MAX9938 current-sense amplifier. It features an ultra-low quiescent current consumption of less than 1µA (max) at ambient temperature (25°C) and is packaged in a tiny, 1mm x 1mm, 4-bump UCSP (ultra-chip-scale package). Chip scale is an IC packaging technology in which solder balls take the place of pins, allowing the smallest package available.¹ The low input-offset voltage of this current-sense amplifier ensures minimal voltage drop across the sense resistor, thus reducing the power dissipation of the resistor itself.

In a typical portable device such as a smartphone, the peak current in transmission mode can reach up to 1A. Assuming that the ADC full-scale is 2.5V, one can use a 50mΩ sense resistor with the MAX9938F, which has a fixed gain of 50. With these values, the maximum voltage across the sense resistor is 50mV and its maximum power dissipation is 50mW. With less than 500µV maximum input-offset voltage, the error due to such an offset is limited to less than 1% of the peak-current value.

If better accuracy is needed, one can use a 100mΩ sense resistor with the MAX9938T, which has fixed gain of 25. The offset error is reduced to 0.5% of the peak-current value; however, the power dissipation in the sense resistor is doubled.

Figure 1. The MAX9938F current-sense amplifier is used to measure battery current, while the MAX9061 comparator is used to detect an overcurrent condition.
Figure 1. The MAX9938F current-sense amplifier is used to measure battery current, while the MAX9061 comparator is used to detect an overcurrent condition.

Overcurrent Protection

Overcurrent conditions can occur due to faulty components in the circuitry, or sometimes when too many software applications are switched on concurrently. Whatever the reason, such abnormal conditions must be immediately communicated to the central processor in the form of an interrupt.

A comparator such as the MAX9061 is ideal for implementing overcurrent protection in portable devices (Figure 1). The MAX9061 uses an innovative technology to self-power its internal circuitry from the reference voltage that is applied to its positive input, which can vary from 0.9V to 5.5V. The negative input can go as low as -0.3V and as high as 5.5V; it is independent from the reference voltage and, thus, can be higher. The output is open-drain and requires an external pullup resistor, which in many cases can be internal to the microcontroller. This unique and innovative architecture allows the comparator to fit in a four-terminal package such as an ultra-tiny, 1mm x 1mm, 4-bump UCSP.

As shown in Figure 1, the input of the MAX9061 is connected to the output of the current-sense amplifier, whose maximum voltage of 2.5V corresponds to the peak battery current. The reference can be connected to a low-dropout (LDO) linear regulator with a higher voltage such as 2.7V. When the input of the MAX9061 is higher than the reference, the comparator output is asserted low and an interrupt is generated.

Besides offering the advantage of a tiny package that can be as small as two 0402 resistors, the MAX9061 is an ultra-low-power device that consumes only 100nA (max) of bias current. The pullup resistor can be as high as one wants if the purpose is to minimize the current flowing through it, because the interrupt is generated on the falling edge of the comparator. The fall time is not dependent on the pullup resistor value. If a reversed output polarity is needed, use the MAX9060, which asserts the output low when the reference is higher than the input voltage.

Circuit Testing

The circuit of Figure 1 was tested with a voltage generator in place of the battery and with the assumption that the 4.2V maximum voltage of a fully charged Li+ battery produces a 1A current through the sense resistor and the load. The voltage generator was decreased all the way down to 2.8V, which represents the condition for battery end of life. Table 1 reports the measurements, and Figure 2 shows the gain profile of the MAX9938F. With a two-point measurement, the gain error was measured to be 0.21% for the particular device tested.

Table 1. Input (VSENSE) and Output (VOUT) Measurements for the MAX9938F
VBAT (V) VSENSE (mV) VOUT (V)
4.5 53.777 2.6847
4.3 51.807 2.5865
4.2 50.639 2.5283
4.0 48.18 2.4054
3.8 45.674 2.2805
3.6 43.518 2.1728
3.4 41.142 2.0544
3.2 38.621 1.9285
3.0 35.997 1.7977
2.8 33.734 1.6847

Figure 2. The gain profile of the MAX9938F.
Figure 2. The gain profile of the MAX9938F.

The voltage generator was then set higher than 4.5V to simulate an overcurrent condition of more than 1A. Figure 3 shows the response of the MAX9061, which generated the interrupt.

Figure 3. The high-low response of the MAX9061 to an overcurrent condition.
Figure 3. The high-low response of the MAX9061 to an overcurrent condition.

Conclusion

The shrinking enclosures of today's portable applications necessitate highly accurate, compact ICs. This application note has described how simple battery-management functions such as battery life estimation and overcurrent protection can be performed with noninvasive components such as ultra-low-power current-sense amplifiers and comparators packaged in tiny, 4-bump UCSP packages.



¹For more information on Maxim's UCSP packaging, refer to application note 1891, "Wafer-level packaging (WLP) and its applications."

UCSP is a trademark of Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.



Related Parts
MAX4372 Low-Cost, UCSP/SOT23, Micropower, High-Side Current-Sense Amplifier with Voltage Output Free Samples  
MAX9938 1µA, 4-Bump UCSP/SOT23, Precision Current-Sense Amplifier Free Samples  


Next Steps
EE-Mail Subscribe to EE-Mail and receive automatic notice of new documents in your areas of interest.
Download Download, PDF Format (84kB)  
Share
Other Channels  Email this page to an associate or friend. 



APP 4268: Jun 29, 2010
APPLICATION NOTE 4268, AN4268, AN 4268, APP4268, Appnote4268, Appnote 4268

Share



More