应用笔记3989

通过单个触点增加控制、存储器、安全和混合信号功能


摘要:本应用笔记概括了1-Wire®接口的应用,讨论了电源的传输以及数据位的通信方式、器件选择,每个芯片内部集成了不可更改的唯一ID。顾名思义,1-Wire单总线接口为需要减少连线的系统提供了一个无与伦比的解决方案。

概述

Maxim的1-Wire总线采用非常简单的信令协议,通过一条公共数据线实现主机/主控制器与一个或多个从机之间的半双工、双向通信(图1)。从器件的供电和数据通信都是借助这条1-Wire线完成的。供电通过以下方式实现:在数据传输过程中,总线状态为高时为从机的内部电容充电,总线状态为低时利用电容存储的电荷为器件供电。典型的1-Wire主机包括一个开漏极I/O端口,并通过电阻上拉至3V至5V电源。Maxim还可提供更加完善的主机,这种主机带有线驱动器。采用这种智能通信技术,可随时方便、高效地增加存储器、认证和混合信号功能。

图1. 在1-Wire主机/从机配置中,所有设备共享一条公共数据线。
图1. 在1-Wire主机/从机配置中,所有设备共享一条公共数据线。

64位序列号

所有1-Wire系统都有一个重要的基本特性:每个从机都有一个唯一、不能更改(ROM)的64位、工厂激光刻制序列号(ID),这个序列号永远不会与另一个器件重复。除了为终端产品提供唯一的电子ID外,64位ID码还允许主机从挂接在同一条总线上的许多从机设备中选择一个。64位ID码的一部分是8位家族码,用于识别器件类型及支持的功能。

数据位通信

总线主机启动和控制所有1-Wire通信。如图2所示,1-Wire通信波形与脉宽调制类似,因为在数据位传输期间(或时隙)是通过宽脉冲(逻辑0)和窄脉冲(逻辑1)发送数据的。当总线主机发出一个预定宽度的“复位”脉冲时,启动通信过程,并通过该脉冲同步整个总线系统。所有从机都会以一个逻辑低“应答”脉冲来响应复位脉冲。写数据时,主机首先拉低1-Wire总线以启动一个时隙,然后保持总线为低(宽脉冲)来发送逻辑0,或释放总线(窄脉冲)使总线返回逻辑1状态。读数据时,主机以窄脉冲方式拉低总线,重新启动一个时隙。然后从机可以通过导通开漏极输出并保持线路为低来延长该脉冲,从而返回逻辑0;或保持开漏极的关闭状态以允许总线恢复,从而返回逻辑1。大多数1-Wire器件都支持两种数据速率:15kbps标准速率和111kbps高速速率。该协议为自同步,并可接受数据位之间的较长延迟,从而确保了中断软件环境下的正常工作。

图2. 该波形示例展示了由主机启动的写/读数据位、以及从机和主机的采样点。
图2. 该波形示例展示了由主机启动的写/读数据位、以及从机和主机的采样点。

器件选择

1-Wire通信的第一步操作是选择从机以进行后续通信。在只有一个从机的系统中,从机选择过程极为简单。而在多从机系统中,要么选择所有从机,要么通过64位ID码选择特定的从机。二元搜索算法(在1-Wire数据资料中称为ROM级命令) “学习”并随后选择总线上所有从器件的相应64位ID。选择了特定的从机后,主机发出与该器件相关的命令,并向从机发送数据,或读取从机数据。与此同时,其它所有从机均忽略该通信过程,直到主机发出下一个复位脉冲。

结语

可以在1-Wire通信系统中增加存储器、数字、模拟和混合信号功能。功能丰富的各种器件完全可以解决空间局促的互连限制,并/或通过独特的器件特性实现增值功能。1-Wire产品提供标准IC封装,以及Maxim专有的坚固的不锈钢iButton®封装。请访问1-Wire网页,了解产品、封装和软件支持的详细信息。关于1-Wire器件更正式的介绍,请参见应用笔记1796:"Overview of 1-Wire Technology and Its Use"。Maxim的1-Wire产品在医学领域有超过15年的应用历史。应用笔记4702:"Easily Add Memory, Security, Monitoring, and Control to Medical Sensors and Consumables"提供了详细并实用的例子。

1-Wire是Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.的注册商标。

iButton是Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.的注册商标。



相关型号
DS2401 硅序列号 免费样品  
DS2406 双通道、可编址开关与1K位存储器 免费样品  
DS2411 硅序列号,带有VCC输入 免费样品  
DS2413 1-Wire、双通道、可编址开关 免费样品  
DS2417 1-Wire时钟芯片,带有中断 免费样品  
DS2431 1024位1-Wire EEPROM 免费样品  
DS2450 四路、1-Wire A/D转换器  
DS2480B 串行、1-Wire线驱动器 免费样品  
DS2484 时间可调并具有休眠模式的单通道1-Wire主机 免费样品  
DS2502 1K位只添加存储器 免费样品  
DS2505 16K位只添加存储器 免费样品  
DS28E01-100 1Kb、保护型1-Wire EEPROM,带有SHA-1引擎 免费样品  
DS28E04-100 4096位、可寻址、1-Wire EEPROM,带有PIO  
DS28E05 1-Wire EEPROM 免费样品  
DS28E05 1-Wire EEPROM 免费样品  
DS28E15 内置1-Wire SHA-256和512位用户EEPROM的DeepCover安全认证方案 免费样品  
DS28E22 内置1-Wire SHA-256和2Kb用户EEPROM的DeepCover安全认证方案 免费样品  
DS28E25 内置1-Wire SHA-256和4Kb用户EEPROM的DeepCover安全认证方案 免费样品  
DS28E35 DeepCover 1-Wire ECDSA认证器,带有1Kb用户EEPROM 免费样品  
DS28EA00 1-Wire数字温度计,具有顺序检测和PIO 免费样品  
DS28EC20 20Kb 1-Wire EEPROM 免费样品  
DS28EL15 DeepCover安全认证器,带有1-Wire SHA-256和512位用户EEPROM 免费样品  
DS28EL22 DeepCover安全认证器,带有1-Wire SHA-256和2Kb用户EEPROM 免费样品  
DS28EL25 DeepCover安全认证器,带有1-Wire SHA-256和4Kb用户EEPROM  


下一步
EE-Mail 订阅EE-Mail,接收关于您感兴趣的新文档的自动通知。

© Mar 06, 2007, Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.
The content on this webpage is protected by copyright laws of the United States and of foreign countries. For requests to copy this content, contact us.

APP 3989: Mar 06, 2007
应用笔记3989, AN3989, AN 3989, APP3989, Appnote3989, Appnote 3989

APPLICATION NOTE 3989

Add Control, Memory, Security, and Mixed-Signal Functions with a Single Contact

Feb 09, 2007

Abstract: This application note provides a high-level overview of the 1-Wire® interface. It discusses power and data delivery along with data-bit-level communication, device selection, and the unalterable, unique ID in each device. As its name implies, the single-contact 1-Wire interface is an unmatched solution that provides key functions to systems where interconnect must be minimized.

Overview

The Maxim 1-Wire bus is a simple signaling scheme that performs half-duplex bidirectional communications between a host/master controller and one or more slaves sharing a common data line (Figure 1). Both power and data communication for slave devices are transmitted over this single 1-Wire line. For power delivery, slaves capture charge on an internal capacitor when the line is in a high state and then use this charge for device operation when the line is low during data transmission. A typical 1-Wire master consists of an open-drain I/O port pin and a 3V to 5V resistor pullup. More sophisticated masters, including dedicated line-driver solutions, are available from Maxim. This clever communication scheme also allows you to add memory, authentication, and mixed-signal functions at any time, easily and efficiently.

Figure 1. In a 1-Wire master/slave configuration, all devices share a common data line.
Figure 1. In a 1-Wire master/slave configuration, all devices share a common data line.

64-Bit Serial Numbers

There is an important, fundamental feature in every 1-Wire system: each slave device has a unique, unalterable (ROM), 64-bit, factory-lasered serial number (ID) that will never be repeated in another device. Besides providing a unique electronic ID to the end product, this 64-bit ID value allows the master device to select a slave device among the many that can be connected to the same bus wire. Part of the 64-bit ID is also an 8-bit family code that identifies the device type and functionality supported.

Data-Bit-Level Communication

The bus master initiates and controls all 1-Wire communication. As illustrated in Figure 2, the 1-Wire communication waveform is similar to pulse-width modulation, because data is transmitted by wide (logic 0) and narrow (logic 1) pulse widths during data-bit time periods or time slots. A communication sequence starts when the bus master drives a defined length "Reset" pulse that synchronizes the entire bus. Every slave responds to the Reset pulse with a logic-low "Presence" pulse. To write data, the master first initiates a time slot by driving the 1-Wire line low, and then either holds the line low (wide pulse) to transmit a logic 0 or releases the line (short pulse) to allow the bus to return to the logic 1 state. To read data, the master again initiates a time slot by driving the line with a narrow low pulse. Slaves can then either return a logic 0 by turning on the open-drain output and holding the line low to extend the pulse, or a logic 1 by leaving the open-drain output off to allow the line to recover. Most 1-Wire devices support two data rates: Standard speed of about 15kbps and Overdrive speed of about 111kbps. The protocol is self-clocking and tolerates long inter-bit delays, which ensures smooth operation in interrupted software environments.

Figure 2. This waveform example shows master-initiated write/read of data bits with slave and master sampling points.
Figure 2. This waveform example shows master-initiated write/read of data bits with slave and master sampling points.

Device Selection

The first action in a 1-Wire communication is selecting a slave device for subsequent communications. In a single slave-device environment, the selection sequence is minimal. In a multidevice environment, however, slave selection is done either by selecting all slaves or a specific slave targeted by its 64-bit ID. A binary search algorithm (described as ROM-level commands in the 1-Wire literature) "learns" and subsequently selects the respective 64-bit IDs of all slave devices on the line. When a specific slave is selected, the master issues device-specific commands and sends data to it, or reads data from it. Meanwhile, all the other slave devices ignore communications until the next reset pulse is issued.

Summary

You can layer a variety of memory, digital, analog, and mixed-signal functions onto a 1-Wire communication system. The resulting diverse product portfolio will definitely solve interconnect limitations in a constrained design and/or add value with unique product features. The 1-Wire products are available in standard IC packaging and the Company's rugged, stainless steel iButton® package. Products, packaging, and extensive software support are detailed at: 1-Wire. For a more text-oriented presentation of 1-Wire devices, see application note 1796, "Overview of 1-Wire Technology and Its Use." Maxim's 1-Wire products have more than 15 years of history in the medical field. Application note 4702, "Easily Add Memory, Security, Monitoring, and Control to Medical Sensors and Consumables," provides details and practical examples.

1-Wire is a registered trademark of Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.

iButton is a registered trademark of Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.



Related Parts
DS2401 Silicon Serial Number Free Samples  
DS2406 Dual Addressable Switch Plus 1Kb Memory Free Samples  
DS2411 Silicon Serial Number with VCC Input Free Samples  
DS2413 1-Wire Dual Channel Addressable Switch Free Samples  
DS2417 1-Wire Time Chip With Interrupt Free Samples  
DS2431 1024-Bit 1-Wire EEPROM Free Samples  
DS2432 1Kb Protected 1-Wire EEPROM with SHA-1 Engine Free Samples  
DS2450 1-Wire Quad A/D Converter  
DS2480B Serial to 1-Wire Line Driver Free Samples  
DS2482-100 Single-Channel 1-Wire Master Free Samples  
DS2502 1Kb Add-Only Memory Free Samples  
DS2505 16Kb Add-Only Memory Free Samples  
DS28E01-100 1Kb Protected 1-Wire EEPROM with SHA-1 Engine Free Samples  
DS28E04-100 4096-Bit Addressable 1-Wire EEPROM with PIO  
DS28EA00 1-Wire Digital Thermometer with Sequence Detect and PIO Free Samples  
DS28EC20 20Kb 1-Wire EEPROM Free Samples  


Next Steps
EE-Mail Subscribe to EE-Mail and receive automatic notice of new documents in your areas of interest.
Download Download, PDF Format (43kB)  
Share
Other Channels  Email this page to an associate or friend. 



APP 3989: Feb 09, 2007
APPLICATION NOTE 3989, AN3989, AN 3989, APP3989, Appnote3989, Appnote 3989

Share



More