应用笔记2853

多电压系统监控器

Greg Sutterlin

摘要:随着处理器变得越来越复杂,确保处理器可靠工作成为一个棘手问题,对监控电路的要求也越来越多。
  • 多电压监控电路需要提供上电复位、正确的排序和连续的电压监视。
  • 目前市场上先进的处理器要求更低的供电电压,因而需要使用新型低电压监视器。
  • 最新的监控电路需要额外的功能,如:看门狗定时器、手动复位输入和电源失效比较器等。


越来越高的元器件密度和处理器速度要求更低的核电压,由此,多电压系统应运而生。最早的多电压系统是用于逻辑电源和核电源的双电压监视器。随后又增加了第三路监控电压,用于FPGA、定制ASIC及其它产品,有些应用甚至需要第四路电压电平监控器。Maxim的监控IC始终与复杂度不断增加的产品保持同步发展,为多电压系统提供监视和控制功能。

多电压系统监控

在多电压系统中,用来产生上电复位(POR)的简单办法是监视3.3V或5V逻辑电源。上电期间,当逻辑电压上升至门限以上时,监控器启动一次复位过程,确保有序地打开处理器。只要处理器的电源电压在规定的范围内(正常工作期间),监控器将连续监控电压的瞬变和掉电条件。

但是,如何保证较低核电压/电源电压下器件工作的完整性? 这些电源电压通常由线性稳压器或开关电源提供,这种情况下怎样在复位周期结束前保证电压符合规范要求? 如果在多电压系统中只监视一路电压,则有可能无法检测到供电异常的器件,该器件可能加载到总线或出现错误响应,导致软件偏离所要求的流程。因此,可靠设计的基础是:必须监视每一路供电电压。

现有的监控器可监视二、三、四路电源电压,可由工厂设置门限,或由工厂设定门限与电阻调节相结合。工厂设置的门限通常能够在监控电压以下按照50mV至100mV的步长递增,根据对监控电路的容差要求进行选择。比如,一个监控器的门限为3.3V、3.08V、2.93V和2.63V,按照所要求的电压值和对应的后缀确定器件的尾标。

工厂设置的监控电路为单芯片器件,无需外部元件设置门限。由于省去了设置门限的电阻分压器,因而省去了一个功耗源。从另一方面考虑,通过电阻调节门限的器件比较适合电压要求灵活的系统。监控电路确定后,可通过替换一个或两个电阻轻松调节监控门限。对于单电源系统,也可使用同一多电压监控电路,只需禁止其它输入。

多电压系统中的低压监控

由于逻辑电源从5.0V或3.3V降至2.5V或1.8V,要求监控器能够监测低至0.9V的电压。这样的监控器直接工作于1.8V电压,较高的电压在系统中不再是通用电源,可能无法得到。在有效工作状态和无效状态下,要求监控电路能够在低至1.0V、甚至更低的电压下保持有效的复位信号。抑制短暂的电源瞬变是低压系统的另一个重要特性(良好的瞬变抑制能力)。许多数据资料给出了瞬变持续时间与电压过驱动之间的关系,使系统设计避免由于电源的固有噪声产生不必要的复位。

器件工作原理与特性

目前市场上能够提供的监控IC具有非常高的灵活性,满足系统的各种要求。除了多电压监控外,这些器件还确保设计稳定性,受硬件、软件瞬态条件的影响更小。以下考虑因素对于选择一款监控电路非常重要。

复位周期:

复位周期是当所有监视电压超出其复位门限后,复位输出保持复位状态的时间,通常最小值是140ms。这样,复位引脚在所有监视电压上升至其门限以上后的140ms (最小值)内仍保持复位状态。复位命令使软件回到特定的代码位置,由此可初始化一次有序启动过程。

出现低电压、手动复位或看门狗超时时也会导致复位。复位信号将对代码进行初始化,避免处理器运行在由于低电压或软件缺陷而被破坏的代码中。如果处理器规范允许,可适当增加或降低复位周期,目前器件可提供的复位周期范围是1ms至1.2s。

复位周期可为电源电压、晶体和锁相环达到稳定提供足够的时间。晶体和PLL对复位周期的选择影响最大,不带PLL的20MHz晶体只需较短的复位超时周期,但通过PLL锁相至20MHz的32kHz晶体则需要较长的超时周期。

复位输出:

低电平有效的推挽式复位输出适用于多数应用,器件也可提供其它输出类型,如,在一个传统的8051应用中采用监控电路取代RC延迟电路时,监控电路须提供高电平有效的推挽输出、或低电平有效的开漏输出、或同时提供这两种输出。

开漏输出一般更加灵活,这种输出允许简单的“线或”连接,并可轻松地与工作在多电压系统中的其它器件连接。开漏输出可通过多种互不相连的复位信号源拉低输出。当然,这种灵活性需要接外部上拉电阻。

单电源系统的推挽输出非常简单,但在多电压系统应用中要多加注意。例如,用两路电压监控电路监视3.3V和5.5V电源。对于有一路推挽复位输出的两个内部电压监控电路,其输出摆幅在地与3.3V之间或地与5.5V之间(另一电路)。这时可以选择电压摆幅与处理器复位输入一致的输出。有时,双电压监控器可能具有两路输出:一路用于监视3.3V,另一路用于监视5.5V。根据对复位输出摆幅的要求,输出摆幅分别为对应的监控电压、或两路输出摆幅均在同一电源电压,选择监控器。

负向电压瞬变抑制:

无论是由线性稳压器供电,还是开关转换器供电,嘈杂的数字环境都会造成电源电压的瞬变。系统设计的关键是能够连续监视电源电压,并在正常工作器件避免不必要的复位。下图(可在指定器件的数据资料中找到)说明了造成器件复位的瞬间过驱动幅度和持续时间(图1)。

图1. MAX6381的典型瞬变持续时间与过驱动的关系曲线
图1. MAX6381的典型瞬变持续时间与过驱动的关系曲线

如图所示,50µs、50mV的瞬变不会引起器件复位,复位发生在更长的持续时间或更大的瞬变幅度下。该图说明了器件避免不必要复位的方式。注意,能够抑制更高电平瞬变的监控电路允许使用低成本电源,需要较少的滤波元件(假设处理器能够接受相应的电源电压变化)。

看门狗定时器:

看门狗定时器用于保证软件的正常工作,如果由于程序缺陷或硬件故障导致软件停留在一阁死循环中,看门狗定时器将复位处理器,使处理器重新初始化。为避免复位,在定时器的每个超时周期结束之前,软件必须在看门狗输入端产生一个跳变沿。跳变沿(一个低电平或高电平输入)排除了处理器闭锁输出禁止看门狗工作的可能性。必须在超时周期结束(产生看门狗复位)之前,由软件复位定时器(一个跳变沿)。

看门狗定时器的巧妙之处在于定时器复位,防止软件进入死循环。设计中,可以在一个子程序中设置一次由低到高的跳变,而在下一子程序中设置一次由高到低的跳变。这样,一旦一个子程序出现死循环将会触发一次复位。如果只在一个子程序里设置产生由低到高、由高到低的脉冲则有可能出现死循环时不产生复位,造成软件闭锁。

为了满足处理器供电更加严格的上电和稳定性要求,一些监控电路需要提供较长的初始化看门狗周期,从而为处理器提供足够的时间进行初始化,在执行后续的更短时间、更严格的看门狗复位间隔之前进行完成自身的配置。

手动复位:

手动复位为用户和器件功能测试提供了一种简便的处理器复位方式。有些监控产品提供低电平有效的复位输入,带内部上拉电阻,无需外部电阻,并可使用简单的开关接口。与手动复位输入有关的一个特殊功能是干扰抑制。干扰抑制电路可防止不必要的复位,并省去了外部开关去抖电路。

手动复位触发一次复位周期,为降低测试时间,复位时间应尽量短。MAX6390 IC非常适合这种要求,其手动复位时间为典型复位时间的1/8 (对于MAX6390D4,手动复位脉冲最小值为140ms,典型复位时间为1.12s)。

除了电平手动复位输入外,一些应用中可能需要边沿手动复位输入,以确保处理器在固定周期内完成复位过程,而与手动复位输入保持低电平的时间无关。这一特点对于降低产品组装时间和测试时间非常方便。

过压和负压监视:

对于需要自检的医疗或安全设备,监控器可使能过压和欠压检测。这些器件具有电阻可编程输入,当被监视电压超出对应的门限时,强制复位。与欠压条件类似,过压也会在固件和硬件中产生不可预知的结果。强制处理器进入复位状态有助于减轻潜在的不安全因素。

发生模拟输出故障有多种原因,但一个简单的负压监视器可以确定所要求的电源电压是否存在或是否合乎规范要求。例如,具有-5V或-15V电源的模拟电路,模拟输出会在没有电源电压反馈的情况下验证电路的有效性。幸运的是,过压监视器也能用来监视负压。对于过压故障,通过电源和VCC之间的外部电阻分压器检测电源电压(图2)。

图2. 使用MAX6347来监视负压
图2. 使用MAX6347来监视负压

电源排序:

为在上电过程中防止出现闭锁并提高系统稳定性,多电压监控系统通常对VI/O到Vcore电压或Vcore到VI/O电压进行排序、跟踪。跟踪意味着I/O电压与核电压同步上升,而且(一般情况下)核电压不能比I/O电压超出0.30V。排序表示I/O电源比核电源先上电,系统通常还会指定从I/O电源上电到核电源上电的延迟时间。

双电源系统(I/O = 3.3V和核电压 = 2.5V)电源排序的一种方法是采用单电源监控器检测3.3V电源。当电压超出指定门限时,监控器触发延迟并驱动一个外部p沟道MOSFET (图3)。这种方法具有较高的性价比,适合小电流应用。大电流情况下,具有低Vgs门限、低Rdson的p沟道FET的成本会很高。


图3. 利用MAX6347实现电源排序
图3. 利用MAX6347实现电源排序

对于更大电流的应用,可以使用带电荷泵的电源排序器。如上例所述,通过监视一路电源电压并驱动外部FET,开启第二路电源。由于IC允许使用n沟道FET,与p沟道器件相比可有效节省成本。内部电荷泵提供5.0V Vgs电压,增强n沟道FET驱动,提供第二路系统供电电源。n-FET不仅成本低,而且Rdson也更低。

MAX6819和MAX6820是采用SOT-23封装的电源排序器,无需外部电荷泵电容。MAX6819具有固定的200ms延时,MAX6820提供可变延时,由外部电容设置延时,如下式所示:

tDELAY(sec) = 2.484x10-6(Cset)。

在多于两路电源的应用中,这些IC还可用来直接排序。为对每路电源进行排序,需要为每个电源增加一个排序器(图4)。

图4. 多电源排序
图4. 多电源排序

电源失效比较器:

如果系统要求提供电源失效报警或低电池电压报警,可选择包扩逻辑电平复位和电源失效检测比较器的监控电路。例如,MAX6342系列IC,复位门限由工厂设置。外部电阻分压器用于设置电源失效检测门限或低电池电压检测门限。由于门限电压为1.25V,可用于监视高于和低于VCC的电压,最小门限为1.25V。对于更多的电源电压,可以选择开漏输出器件,利用第二个监控器监视其它核电压。

电压检测:

监视系统不能过分强调对所有电源电压进行监控的重要性。可通过反馈电路或驱动处理器复位引脚的监控电路实现。反馈可以是测量系统电压的A/D转换器,或通过软件监视器件功能。每种方法都可确保电路板正确供电。

另一简便方法是采用电压检测器,可获得同样结果。电压检测比监控电路提供更加清晰的信息,可以指出哪路电源电压出现了故障。监控电路通常对所有电压监控输出进行“或”运算,产生单路复位输出,多路电压检测器则提供漏极开路输出,分别检查每路电压,以确定哪路电源出现问题。例如,4电压监视器采用独立的漏极开路输出,器件包含电阻可编程门限以及工厂预设门限,用于监视1.8V、2.5V、3.3V、5.0V或-5.0V电源电压。内部精密电压基准和电阻分压器使这些IC结构非常紧凑。

结论

多电源供电、越来越小的管芯尺寸以及对产品可靠性要求的不断提高,迫切需要完备的电源监控或电源电压监视器。本文介绍了针对这一目的或用于高可靠性系统设计的监控产品。



相关型号
MAX6338 四电压监控器,提供四路输出,µMAX封装 免费样品  
MAX6338 四电压监控器,提供四路输出,µMAX封装 免费样品  
MAX6339 四电压µP监控电路,SOT封装 免费样品  
MAX6391 双电压微处理器监控电路,带有顺序复位输出 免费样品  
MAX6391 双电压微处理器监控电路,带有顺序复位输出 免费样品  
MAX6392 双电压微处理器监控电路,带有顺序复位输出 免费样品  
MAX6392 双电压微处理器监控电路,带有顺序复位输出 免费样品  
MAX6700 低电压、高精度、三/四路电压、微处理器监控电路,SOT封装 免费样品  
MAX6700 低电压、高精度、三/四路电压、微处理器监控电路,SOT封装 免费样品  
MAX6709 低电压、高精度、四路电压监测器,µMAX封装 免费样品  
MAX6710 低电压、高精度、三/四路电压、微处理器监控电路,SOT封装 免费样品  
MAX6710 低电压、高精度、三/四路电压、微处理器监控电路,SOT封装 免费样品  
MAX6714 低电压、高精度、四路电压监测器,µMAX封装 免费样品  
MAX6714 低电压、高精度、四路电压监测器,µMAX封装 免费样品  
MAX6715 双/三路、超低电压、SOT23封装、微处理器监控电路 免费样品  
MAX6715 双/三路、超低电压、SOT23封装、微处理器监控电路 免费样品  
MAX6730 单/双/三电压微处理器监控电路,带有独立的看门狗输出 免费样品  
MAX6736 低功耗、双/三电压、SC70封装的微处理器监控电路 免费样品  
MAX6736 低功耗、双/三电压、SC70封装的微处理器监控电路 免费样品  
MAX6819 SOT23封装、电源排序器 免费样品  
MAX6819 SOT23封装、电源排序器 免费样品  
MAX6820 SOT23封装、电源排序器 免费样品  
MAX6820 SOT23封装、电源排序器 免费样品  
MAX6826 双路、超低电压、SOT23封装、微处理器监控电路,带有手动复位及看门狗定时器 免费样品  
MAX6826 双路、超低电压、SOT23封装、微处理器监控电路,带有手动复位及看门狗定时器 免费样品  


下一步
EE-Mail 订阅EE-Mail,接收关于您感兴趣的新文档的自动通知。

© Oct 10, 2006, Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.
The content on this webpage is protected by copyright laws of the United States and of foreign countries. For requests to copy this content, contact us.

APP 2853: Oct 10, 2006
应用笔记2853, AN2853, AN 2853, APP2853, Appnote2853, Appnote 2853

APPLICATION NOTE 2853

Supervisors in Multivoltage Systems

By:  Greg Sutterlin
Nov 17, 2003

Abstract: As processors become more complex, ensuring proper operation becomes more involved and more is demanded from supervisory circuits.
  • Multi-voltage supervisors provide power-on reset, proper sequencing, and continuous voltage monitoring.
  • The lower voltage requirements in today's state-of-the-art processors demands the use of new low-voltage monitors.
  • Modern supervisors provide additional functions such as watchdog timers, manual reset input, and power fail comparators.


As higher component density and processor speed demanded lower voltages for the core supply, multi-voltage systems began to appear. The first such systems were dual-voltage designs for the logic and core. Advances in FPGAs, custom ASICs, and other products added a third, and sometimes a fourth, voltage level. Maxim supervisor ICs have kept pace with the development of increasingly complex products, providing monitoring and control for complex, multi-voltage systems.

Multi-Voltage Supervision

In multi-voltage systems, the simplest way to generate a Power on Reset (POR) signal is to monitor the 3.3V or 5V logic supply. At power-up, when the logic voltage rises above its threshold, the supervisor initiates a reset period to ensure an orderly turn-on of the processor. As long as the processor's supply voltage is within specifications (during normal operation), the supervisor continues to monitor that voltage for transient and brown-out conditions.

But what about the integrity of devices operating at lower levels of core/supply voltage? Those levels are generated from linear or switching power supplies, so how can you assume they are within specification before the reset period has elapsed? By monitoring only a single voltage in a multi-voltage design, the risk can go undetected that improperly powered devices may be loading the bus or responding in an erratic manner, causing software to deviate from its expected procedure. A good foundation for reliable design must therefore include the ability to monitor all voltages.

Available supervisors can monitor two, three, or even four supply voltages, either with factory-programmed thresholds or with a combination of factory and resistor-programmable thresholds. Factory-programmed thresholds are usually available in increments of 50mV to 100mV below the monitored voltage level, so a supervisor is selected according to its specified tolerance. If, for example, a supervisor family specifies thresholds of 3.3V, 3.08V, 2.93V, and 2.63V, you compose a part number for the device by noting the desired voltage and its corresponding suffix.

Factory-programmed supervisors are single-chip devices that require no external components for threshold settings. The absence of resistor dividers for the thresholds also eliminates a source of power dissipation. Resistor-programmable devices, on the other hand, are suitable for engineers who want to avoid an application-specific device. Once your company qualifies a particular supervisor, you can easily change its threshold by substituting one or two resistors. And for single-supply systems, you can use the same multi-voltage supervisor after disabling its other inputs.

Low-Voltage Supervision in Multi-Voltage Systems

The movement of logic levels from 5.0V and 3.3V toward 2.5V and 1.8V is creating a need for for supervisors that can monitor voltages as low as 0.9V. Such supervisors should operate directly from 1.8V, because the higher voltage levels will not always be available. The smaller differece between active and inactive states also poses a need to maintain valid reset operation down to supply levels of 1.0V and lower. The ability to reject short-duration transients in the supply voltage (good transient immunity) is another feature critical for low-voltage systems. Many data sheets include a graph of transient duration vs. voltage overdrive, which allows the designer to avoid nuisance resets by reviewing noise characteristics inherent in the power supply.

Device Operation and Features

The currently available families of off-the-shelf supervisor ICs are extremely flexible in meeting system needs. Besides multi-voltage monitoring, they offer features that make designs more robust and less susceptible to transient conditions in the hardware and software. The following considerations are critical in selecting a supervisor.

Reset Period:

Reset Period is a delay interval following the rise of all monitored voltages above their reset thresholds, during which the reset output is held low. A popular value is 140msec minimum. Thus, the reset pin remains active for at least 140msec after all monitored voltages have risen above their thresholds. Reset commands vector the software to a specific code location from which an orderly start-up can be initiated.

Resets also occur in response to a low voltage, manual reset, or watchdog timeout. Reset initializes the code, and thereby prevents the processor from executing code that might have been corrupted by a low voltage or software bug. If processor specifications permit, it may be more suitable to increase or decrease the reset period. Available devices provide reset periods ranging from 1 millisecond to 1.2 seconds.

The reset period also allows the supply voltages, crystal, and phase-locked loop (PLL) to stabilize. The crystal and PLL have the largest effect on reset period duration. A 20MHz crystal without PLL can use a short timeout, but a 32kHz crystal phase-locked to 20MHz with a PLL requires a longer timeout.

Reset Output:

An active-low push-pull reset output is appropriate for most applications, but other output types are available. For applications in which a supervisor replaces the RC delay associated with a traditional 8051 product, the supervisor has an active-high push-pull output or an active-low open-drain output, or both.

Open-drain outputs are generally more flexible. They allow simple wire-OR connections, and easily form an interface to devices operating at different system voltages. Open-drain outputs allow the Reset output to be pulled low by multiple sources without contention. The penalty for that flexibility is the external pull-up resistor.

Push-pull outputs in single-voltage systems are straightforward, but those in multi-voltage systems require more care. Consider, for example, a dual supervisor used to monitor 3.3V and 5.0V supplies. For the two internal voltage monitors it has one push-pull reset output, which can swing between ground and the 3.3V rail or (in another version) between ground and the 5V rail. In that case you choose the version whose voltage swing is compatible with the processor's reset input. Or, the dual supervisor may have two outputs-one associated with the 3.3V monitor, and one with the 5V monitor. You can choose a version in which each output swings to the corresponding monitored rail, or both swing to the same rail.

Negative-Going Transients Immunity:

Noisy digital environments can impose voltage transients on a supply voltage regardless of whether it is generated by a linear regulator or a switching converter. The key goal is to avoid nuisance resets during normal operation while maintaining continuous monitoring of the supply voltage. A graph (available in the data sheet for a typical device) provides guidance on what combination of transient overdrive magnitude and duration will cause a device reset (Figure 1).

Figure 1. Typical Transient Duration vs. overdrive (graph) for the MAX6381.
Figure 1. Typical Transient Duration vs. overdrive (graph) for the MAX6381.

As you can see, a 50µsec, 50mV transient will not reset the device; resets occur only for transients of longer duration or greater magnitude. Thus, the graph provides a means for avoiding the dreaded nuisance resets. Note that supervisors with a higher level of transient rejection may also permit the use of a lower-cost power supply requiring less filtering (assuming the processor can tolerate the resulting supply-voltage variation).

Watchdog Timer:

Watchdog timers check for proper software execution. If the software sticks in a loop caused by a bug or hardware failure, the watchdog timer resets the processor and allows it to reinitialize itself. To avoid a reset, the software must generate an edge transition at the watchdog input before the end of each timer period. An edge transition (rather than an active low or high input) removes the possibility of disabling the watchdog due to a locked processor output. You must place timer resets (edge transitions) in the software at locations that ensure a reset of the watchdog before the timeout period elapses.

The art in implementing a watchdog timer is to place the timer resets so they preclude the possibility of a stuck loop. A handy tip is to force a low-to-high transition in one routine and a high-to-low transition in the next routine in the sequence. Then, a reset will occur if the software is stuck in one of the routines. Placing a low-high-low pulse in a single subroutine does not produce a reset, so the software could remain locked.

To accommodate processors with extended power-up and stabilization requirements, some supervisors provide longer initial watchdog periods. A longer period allows the processor time to initialize and configure itself before implementing the subsequent shorter and more rigorous watchdog intervals.

Manual Reset:

Manual Reset makes available to users and functional test devices an easily accessible means of resetting the processor. Several supervisor products provide an active-low input with internal pull-up resistor, which eliminates the need for an external resistor and also allows for a simple switch interface. Another specification associated with the Manual Reset input is glitch rejection. To avoid an unintentional or nuisance reset, the input should reject short-duration glitches. Such glitch-rejection circuitry not only prevents unintentional resets, but also eliminates the need for external switch-debouncing circuitry.

Manual resets typically trigger a reset period. To reduce test time, however, the reset period should be short. MAX6390 ICs address this concern with periods about one-eighth that of a standard reset period (for a MAX6390D4, the Manual Reset pulse is 140msec minimum and the reset period is 1.12sec).

In addition to level-sensitive manual-reset inputs, some applications may require edge-sensitive inputs, which ensure that the processor is reset for a fixed period rather than a period that depends on how long the manual-reset input is held low. That capability is handy for reducing product-assembly and test time.

Overvoltage and Negative-Voltage Monitoring:

For medical or safety-related equipment that performs self-testing, supervisors are available that enable the detection of both over-voltage and under-voltage conditions. These devices have resistor-programmable inputs that force a reset when the monitored voltage exceeds a threshold. Like the under-voltage condition, excessive voltage can cause unexpected results in firmware as well as hardware. Forcing the processor into reset mitigates a potentially unsafe condition.

Analog-output failures can occur in a number of ways, but a simple negative voltage monitor can confirm that the expected supply voltages are present and within specification. Analog modules with -5V or -15V rails, for instance, often produce analog outputs for which there is no supply-voltage feedback to verify their validity. Fortunately, an over-voltage monitor can also monitor a negative voltage. As for the over-voltage case, the supply voltage is sensed by an external resistor divider between that voltage and Vcc (Figure 2).

Figure 2. Negative voltage monitor using the MAX6347.
Figure 2. Negative voltage monitor using the MAX6347.

Power Sequencing:

To prevent latch-up and to maximize reliability during power-up, a multi-voltage system often includes a requirement to sequence or track the VI/O to Vcore or Vcore to VI/O voltages. Tracking generally means the I/O and core voltages must rise together, and (usually) the core voltage must not exceed the I/O voltage by more than 0.30V. Sequencing generally means that the I/O voltage must rise before the core voltage. The system may also specify a delay period between the rise of the I/O and core voltages.

One type of sequencer for a 2-voltage system (I/O = 3.3V and core = 2.5V) employs a single-voltage supervisor that monitors the 3.3V supply. When that voltage is above its threshold, the supervisor delays and then enhances an external p-channel MOSFET (Figure 3). That approach is cost effective for low-current applications, but for higher currents the cost of a low-Rdson p-FET with low Vgs threshold can be high.

Figure 3. Power sequencer using the MAX6347.
Figure 3. Power sequencer using the MAX6347.

For higher-current applications, a dedicated power sequencer with charge pump may be more effective. As in the preceding example, this circuit monitors a supply voltage and activates an external FET to bring up the second supply. The IC device, however, allows use of an n-channel FET that costs less than the p-channel device. The internal charge pump provides a Vgs of 5.0V, which fully enhances the n-FET powering the second supply. Not only does the n-FET cost less; its Rdson is notably lower.

As examples, the MAX6819 and MAX6820 are SOT-23 power sequencers that require no external charge-pump capacitors. The MAX6819 has a fixed 200msec delay, and the MAX6820 has a variable delay. An external capacitor sets the delay according to the relationship

tDELAY(sec) = 2.484x10-6(Cset).

These ICs also enable straightforward sequencing in applications with more than two supply voltages. To sequence all supplies, you simply add one sequencer for each additional supply voltage (Figure 4).

Figure 4. Sequencing an additional supply.
Figure 4. Sequencing an additional supply.

Power-Fail Comparator:

If your system must provide an early warning of power loss or low battery voltage, you can choose a supervisor that includes a logic-level reset circuit and power-fail comparator. For ICs of the MAX6342 family, for example, the reset threshold is factory trimmed. An external resistor divider sets the threshold for power loss or low-battery detection. Because the threshold is at 1.25V, you can monitor voltages above and below Vcc, with the minimum threshold at 1.25V. For additional supply voltages, choose a device with open-drain outputs, which allows use of a second supervisor to monitor the other core voltages.

Voltage Detection:

The importance of monitoring all supply voltages in a system cannot be overemphasized. It can be performed via feedback, or by a supervisor driving the reset pin of a processor. Feedback can be in the form of an A/D converter measuring system voltages, or a software routine monitoring device functionality. Either approach assures the engineer of proper power on the board.

Another simple method achieves the same result with voltage detectors. Voltage detection can be more informative than supervision, because it indicates which supply voltage has a problem. Supervision usually ORs together all voltages and generates a single reset, whereas a multi-voltage detector usually offers open-drain outputs that can be reviewed individually to determine the source of the problem. Quad-voltage monitors are available with independent open-drain outputs. Such devices can include resistor-programmable thresholds as well as factory-programmed thresholds that accommodate supply voltages of 1.8V, 2.5V, 3.3V, 5.0V, or -5.0V. An internal precision voltage reference and internal voltage dividers make these ICs very compact.

Summary

The combination of multiple supply voltages, shrinking die geometries, and increasingly important product reliability specifications has elevated the need for complete supervision or monitoring of supply voltages. This article has described the products available for that purpose, and the product features critical in designing a reliable system.



Related Parts
MAX6338 Quad Voltage Monitor with Four Outputs in µMax Package Free Samples  
MAX6338 Quad Voltage Monitor with Four Outputs in µMax Package Free Samples  
MAX6339 Quad Voltage µP Supervisory Circuit in SOT Package Free Samples  
MAX6391 Dual-Voltage µP Supervisory Circuits with Sequenced Reset Outputs Free Samples  
MAX6391 Dual-Voltage µP Supervisory Circuits with Sequenced Reset Outputs Free Samples  
MAX6392 Dual-Voltage µP Supervisory Circuits with Sequenced Reset Outputs Free Samples  
MAX6392 Dual-Voltage µP Supervisory Circuits with Sequenced Reset Outputs Free Samples  
MAX6700 Low-Voltage, High-Accuracy, Triple/Quad Voltage µP Supervisory Circuits in SOT Package Free Samples  
MAX6700 Low-Voltage, High-Accuracy, Triple/Quad Voltage µP Supervisory Circuits in SOT Package Free Samples  
MAX6709 Low-Voltage, High-Accuracy, Quad Voltage Monitors in µMAX Package Free Samples  
MAX6710 Low-Voltage, High-Accuracy, Triple/Quad Voltage µP Supervisory Circuits in SOT Package Free Samples  
MAX6710 Low-Voltage, High-Accuracy, Triple/Quad Voltage µP Supervisory Circuits in SOT Package Free Samples  
MAX6714 Low-Voltage, High-Accuracy, Quad Voltage Monitors in µMAX Package Free Samples  
MAX6714 Low-Voltage, High-Accuracy, Quad Voltage Monitors in µMAX Package Free Samples  
MAX6715 Dual/Triple Ultra-Low-Voltage SOT23 µP Supervisory Circuits Free Samples  
MAX6715 Dual/Triple Ultra-Low-Voltage SOT23 µP Supervisory Circuits Free Samples  
MAX6730 Single-/Dual-/Triple-Voltage µP Supervisory Circuits with Independent Watchdog Output Free Samples  
MAX6736 Low-Power Dual-/Triple-Voltage SC70 µP Supervisory Circuits Free Samples  
MAX6736 Low-Power Dual-/Triple-Voltage SC70 µP Supervisory Circuits Free Samples  
MAX6819 SOT23 Power-Supply Sequencers Free Samples  
MAX6819 SOT23 Power-Supply Sequencers Free Samples  
MAX6820 SOT23 Power-Supply Sequencers Free Samples  
MAX6820 SOT23 Power-Supply Sequencers Free Samples  
MAX6826 Dual, Ultra-Low-Voltage SOT23 µP Supervisors with Manual Reset and Watchdog Timer Free Samples  
MAX6826 Dual, Ultra-Low-Voltage SOT23 µP Supervisors with Manual Reset and Watchdog Timer Free Samples  


Next Steps
EE-Mail Subscribe to EE-Mail and receive automatic notice of new documents in your areas of interest.
Download Download, PDF Format (92kB)  
Share
Other Channels  Email this page to an associate or friend. 



APP 2853: Nov 17, 2003
APPLICATION NOTE 2853, AN2853, AN 2853, APP2853, Appnote2853, Appnote 2853

Share



More