参考图244

性能优异的1-Wire网络驱动器


摘要:本文介绍了一种基于微控制器的1-Wire®主机接口,适用于小规模、中等规模以及大规模的1-Wire网络。采用精细的阻抗匹配和"智能" (软件控制)强上拉、摆率控制等方法保证网络的可靠工作。本文给出了软件流程图,有助于用户利用任何适当的微控制器产生正确的复位脉冲、在线检测、写“1”、写“0”以及读时隙的1-Wire时序。示波器测试曲线说明了驱动器的时间特性以及远距离通信时传输线的影响。

简介

1-Wire网络的可靠性在很大程度上取决于主机与1-Wire从机器件之间所采用的通信驱动电路的性能。本文介绍了一种1-Wire主机端接口,采用精细的阻抗匹配和"智能" (软件控制)强上拉等方法,保证网络在轻载到重载范围内均能可靠工作,且通信距离可达500m。关于创建可靠的1-Wire网络指南,请参见应用笔记148。

电路描述

网络驱动器(图1)由下拉部分(Q1,R1,C1,R5)和上拉部分(Q2,R2,C2,R6)组成。晶体管Q3与周围的元件(C4、R7)组成强上拉电路,可为诸如EEPROM、温度传感器等器件提供额外电源。 本文没有讨论"强上拉"的功能。任何时候,三个晶体管中最多只有一个处于导通状态;当1-Wire不进行通信("空闲"状态)时,这三个晶体管都不导通。

图1. 驱动器原理图
图1. 驱动器原理图

R4、R1和R3的串联电路提供标准的1-Wire到VCC上拉。在这种电路情况下,总的上拉电阻近似为1kΩ。当1-Wire线空闲时,则线上呈现此阻抗。由于R4与Q1的漏极相连,因此Q1导通时电流会流过该电阻,但不会影响1-Wire总线的低电平电压。1-Wire总线电压升至5V的速度是由R4+R1+R3的电阻值和1-Wire网络的负载决定的。不建议减小R4阻值,否则会导致1-Wire总线的低电平电压升高,而这不是我们所期望的。通过把肖特基二极管D1、D2分别导通至GND和VCC,抑制ESD冲击以及来自邻近电缆的耦合信号。电阻R3限制ESD电流,保护D1和D2。

该驱动器一个最明显的特性就是可以在主机端实现与1-Wire电缆之间严格的终端匹配。在1-Wire网络中推荐使用5类非屏蔽双绞数据电缆,其特性阻抗约为100Ω。当Q1或Q2导通时,总线终端匹配分别通过R3与R1或R2的串联来实现。C3与R1和R3串联为在线应答脉冲提供一个交流耦合终端匹配。为了驱动器适应不同的特征阻抗电缆,需要相应地调整R1和R2。

驱动器的三个部分在相应的晶体管导通时,其压摆率受到控制。当驱动器将1-Wire总线变为低电平(例如某个时序或复位脉冲的起始点), R5和C1控制下降斜率;R6和C2限制动态上拉信号变为有效状态时的压摆率;而R7和C4限制强上拉的压摆率。这三个部分的时间常数均为0.5µs,压摆率近似为4V/µs。关于详细资料和示波器波形,请参见性能举例部分。

电路工作原理

若忽略强上拉电路(Q3, R7, C4),驱动器要求连接三个信号至监控微控制器,这些信号分别为DRIVE、DPU和SENSE。DRIVE为高电平有效信号,它通过使 Q1导通,来启动 1-Wire通信。DPU为低电平有效信号,用来激活动态上拉晶体管Q2。SENSE是1-Wire电路与微控制器输入口之间的直连信号。1-Wire的地线与驱动器/微控制器GND共地。为了进行1-Wire通信,必须发出恰当的DRIVE信号和DPU信号,并在适当的时间内通过SENSE输入口读取1-Wire总线信号。1-Wire通信有四种波形,它们是复位/在线应答检测序列,和三种通信时隙波形。

复位/在线应答脉冲检测序列

1-Wire通信过程都是从一个复位脉冲开始,之后跟随在线应答脉冲,波形如图2所示。当需要发出复位脉冲时, DRIVE信号要变为高电平并保持从A到B的时间(参见图2)。从A点开始,1-Wire的电压缓降为0V。在B点,DRIVE信号释放,除非1-Wire器件将总线拉低以产生中断信号(参见DS1994/DS2404数据资料,中断类型2),否则1-Wire电压开始上升。为了能正确处理这种中断,从C点开始就要对1-Wire进行重复采样,直到D点1-Wire状态变为逻辑高电平。在D点之后很短时间内,动态上拉DPU信号变为有效状态(E点),1-Wire总线将会以更快的速度被拉至5V,动态上拉在F点结束。假定总线上存在一个1-Wire器件,它就会发出在线应答脉冲,从G点开始,到I点结束。在G与I之间的某个地方(H点),对1-Wire状态进行采样,判定是否存在1-Wire 器件。在线应答脉冲结束后,1-Wire电压开始升至5V。在J点还要对1-Wire逻辑状态再次采样,判断是否发生了1A类中断信号(参见DS1994/DS2404数据资料)。无中断信号时,逻辑状态为高电平,从K点到L点动态上拉信号再次变为有效状态,以确保1-Wire总线电压上升到5V,如图2所示。当有中断信号产生时,J点所检测到的状态将为逻辑0,同时开始下一轮重复采样过程,就像在复位脉冲结束那样(如返回C点继续采样)。如果在总线上还存在其它的1-Wire器件,除发出中断的器件外,它们将把此中断脉冲看作是复位脉冲,随后发出在线应答脉冲作为响应。(如第二次到达J点时,1-Wire的逻辑状态为高,如图2所示)。在任何情况下,复位/在线应答脉冲检测在M点结束,同时也是下一个时隙的起始。

图2. 复位与在线应答脉冲时序
图2. 复位与在线应答脉冲时序

表1. 复位/在线应答脉冲检测序列的时间建议值
A to B B to C D to E E to F E to H H to J J to K K to L L to M
480µs 0 to 2µs 0 to 2µs 8µs 72µs 240µs 0 to 2µs 60µs > 2µs

采样点H必须选在应答脉冲窗口之内,在线应答脉冲窗口由最快和最慢的1-Wire器件在线应答脉冲的时间决定,数据资料中将此窗口时间长度规定为tMSP。复位脉冲结束后,当1-Wire器件检测到逻辑高电平时,标志着tMSP开始,图2中该参考点近似为E点。A到C之间的时间长度等于tF (下降时间)与tRSTL (低电平复位时间)之和。当发生2类中断时,有效的复位时间长度就是从A到B的持续时间与中断脉冲(参见DS1994/DS2404数据资料)持续时间的总和。从E到M的时间称为高电平复位时间tRSTH。数据资料规定了tRSTL,并说明了如何确定最小的tRSTH值,但对于tRSTH没有最大值要求。

通信时隙

写0时隙

写0时隙用于在1-Wire总线中传送比特0,对应的1-Wire波形如图3所示。需要进行写0时隙操作时,DRIVE信号首先要变为有效电平状态并持续一段时间,图中对应的为A点和B0点。从A点开始,1-Wire总线的电压缓降至0V。在B0点当DRIVE信号释放时,1-Wire总线电压开始上升。B0点之后很短时间内,动态上拉DPU变为有效(C0点),1-Wire总线将会以更快的速度被拉至5V。动态上拉信号在D0点结束,下一个时隙或复位/在线脉冲检测序列将紧随在E点之后。

图3. 写0时隙
图3. 写0时隙

写0时隙不需要对数据线进行采样,因此图3未标明任何采样点,但是也允许对1-Wire总线按照读时隙(图4或图5)中相同的时间点进行采样,不过获得的采样逻辑状态将始终为0,表明电路正在向1-Wire总线进行写0操作。从A到C0的持续时间长度等于tF (下降时间)与tW0L (写0低电平时间)之和,从C0至E0的时间称为恢复时间tREC。数据资料规定了tW0L和tREC的最小值。A至E0的时间称之为时隙周期tSLOT

表2. 推荐的写0时隙时间值
A to B0 B0 to C0 C0 to D0 A to E0
60µs 2µs 16µs 80µs

写1/读1时隙

写1时隙用于从1-Wire总线上传送比特1,对应的1-Wire波形如图4所示。实际上,从1-Wire总线读取比特1的操作与写1操作的工作波形是相同的,因此,写1操作和读1操作就作为一种情况来讨论。若要产生写1或读1时隙,首先在A点将DRIVE信号变为有效并持续到BR。从A点开始,1-Wire总线电压缓降至0V。在BR点,DRIVE信号释放,无论是在进行读1操作还是进行写1操作,1-Wire总线电压都开始上升。在CR点对1-Wire总线进行取样。由于读到的比特为1,动态上拉DPU将立即变为有效状态,并从D1持续到E1。这将使1-Wire总线电压以更快的速度升至5V。下一时隙或复位/在线应答脉冲检测序列可以从F1点开始。

图4. 写1/读时隙(读1)
图4. 写1/读时隙(读1)

采样点CR必须落在主机采样窗口范围内,由最快的1-Wire器件响应时间决定。在数据资料中该时间窗口称为tMSR。时隙开始后,1-Wire器件检测到逻辑低电平时作为tMSR的开始点,图4中这一参考点近似为A点加上脉冲的下降时间tF。从A到BR的持续时间等于tF (下降时间)和tRL (读低电平时间)之和。数据资料中规定了tRL (等于tW1L)和tMSR,从A到F1的时间也就是时隙周期时间tSLOT

表3. 推荐的写1/读时隙(读1)时间值
A to BR A to CR CR to D1 D1 to E1 A to F1
9µs 18µs 0 to 2µs 60µs 80µs

读时隙(读0)

读0时隙用于从1-Wire总线上读取比特0,对应的1-Wire波形如图5所示。需要进行读时隙操作时,DRIVE信号首先要变为有效电平状态并持续一段时间,图中对应为A点和BR点。从A点开始,1-Wire总线的电压缓降至0V。为了发送比特0, 1-Wire器件需要把1-Wire拉为低电平,从A点,到BR点结束。这样的话,1-Wire总线在开始时先由1-Wire主机将电压拉低,在BR点时主机下拉结束,随后由总线上存在的一个或多个1-Wire器件继续把1-Wire总线电压维持在逻辑低电平状态。在CR点对1-Wire总线进行采样。由于读到的比特为0,1-Wire总线将被重复采样。在D0点1-Wire器件停止下拉, 1-Wire总线电压开始升高。随后在E0再次进行取样,判断总线是否已经处于逻辑高电平状态,同时动态上拉DPU变为有效状态,1-Wire总线电压开始以更快的速度升至5V。动态上拉DPU的有效状态从F0持续到G0。下一个时隙或复位/在线应答脉冲检测时序可以从H0开始。

图5. 读时隙(读0)
图5. 读时隙(读0)

CR采样点的选取与写1/读时隙时相同,随后的重复采样间隔应该在微控制器和软件允许范围内尽可能的短。从A到H0的时间也就是时隙周期时间tSLOT

表4. 推荐的读时隙(读0)时间值
A to BR A to CR E0 to F0 CR to G0 A to H0
9µs 18µs 0 to 2µs 60µs 82µs

应用注意事项

控制这个高级的1-Wire网络驱动器的信号结构相对来说比较复杂。然而,算法还是比较直观,因此这个驱动器通常用软件来实现,采用速度足够快的微控制器,以产生实时信号。下面的流程图将有助于用户采用自己熟悉的、任何一款能够满足要求的微控制器来实现该驱动器。为能产生合适的定时信号,必须要考虑在选定晶振频率下每个命令的执行时间。

软件流程图

图6

注1: 若仅将定时器作为计数器而不是实时定时器,则必须采用递减计数器。定时器应该在5000µs后终止。

注2PresenceShort是用来向高级程序报告复位/在线应答脉冲检测时隙结果的逻辑变量。由于在这里只有一款可产生中断的1-Wire芯片(DS1994/DS2404),并且使用中断会大大降低1-Wire网络的有效速度,因此中断不作为变量来进行报告。

图7

在该流程图,采用一个逻辑输入变量来控制是产生写0时隙还是产生读0时隙。写1时隙与读0时隙是相同的。位变量BitValue用来向上级程序报告时隙执行的结果 。

注1: 若仅将定时器作为计数器而不是实时定时器,则必须采用递减计数器。定时器应该在45µs后终止。

注2:按照此流程图,在定时器停止之前,DPU信号会被重复置为有效状态。若信号已处于有效状态,则激活操作不会对它产生影响,因此允许对已处于有效状态的DPU信号进行激活。如果需要,也可以进行检测DPU信号是否有效,如果DPU信号有效,则在执行程序时无需再次激活。

性能举例

本文讨论的驱动器产生的1-Wire信号的示波器波形如下页所示。当对信号进行检验时,尤其是在电缆的最远端,必须使用差分探头,探头的参考地悬空,否则探头的地将旁路1-Wire的参考地,从而改变系统的拓扑结构。如果不能提供差分探头,则必须通过变压器或使用电池供电的示波器,将示波器地同总线地隔离,两种方法可任选其一,以断开示波器电源电缆的安全接地。

示波器波形

复位/在线应答脉冲检测时隙(如图2)
复位/在线应答脉冲检测时隙(如图2)

写0时隙(如图3)
写0时隙(如图3)

写1/读1时隙(如图4)
写1/读1时隙(如图4)

读0时隙(如图5)
读0时隙(如图5)

在300m电缆末端的下降沿信号
在300m电缆末端的下降沿信号

在300m电缆末端附近所看到的相同的下降沿信号
在300m电缆末端附近所看到的相同的下降沿信号

注: Southwind Enterprises生产类似此高级1-Wire总线驱动器产品。详细的技术资料和订购信息请点击:http://ibuttonlink.com/

新设计中不推荐使用DS1994和DS2404。

1-Wire是Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.的注册商标。



相关型号
DS1822 经济型、1-Wire数字温度计 免费样品  
DS18B20 分辨率可编程设置的1-Wire数字温度计 免费样品  
DS18B20-PAR 1-Wire寄生供电数字温度计  
DS18S20 1-Wire寄生供电数字温度计 免费样品  
DS18S20-PAR 寄生供电数字温度计  
DS1904 iButton RTC  
DS1920 iButton温度记录仪  
DS1921G Thermochron iButton器件  
DS1921H 高分辨率、Thermochron iButton器件  
DS1921Z 高分辨率、Thermochron iButton器件  
DS1961S 带有SHA-1引擎的iButton 1Kb EEPROM  
DS1963S 带有SHA-1功能的iButton金融器件  
DS1971 iButton 256位EEPROM  
DS1973 iButton 4K位EEPROM 免费样品  
DS1982 iButton 1K位只添加 免费样品  
DS1982U UniqueWare iButton器件  
DS1985 iButton 16K位只添加 免费样品  
DS1986 iButton 64K位只添加  
DS1990A iButton序列号 免费样品  
DS1992 iButton 1K位/4K位存储器 免费样品  
DS1993 iButton 1K位/4K位存储器 免费样品  
DS1994 iButton 4K位、带有时钟的存储器  
DS1995 iButton 16K位存储器 免费样品  
DS1996 iButton 64K位存储器 免费样品  
DS2401 硅序列号 免费样品  
DS2404 经济型RAM时钟芯片  
DS2405 可编址开关  
DS2406 双通道、可编址开关与1K位存储器 免费样品  
DS2415 1-Wire时钟芯片  
DS2417 1-Wire时钟芯片,带有中断 免费样品  
DS2432 1Kb、保护型1-Wire EEPROM,带有SHA-1引擎 免费样品  
DS2433 4K位1-Wire EEPROM  
DS2450 四路、1-Wire A/D转换器  
DS2502 1K位只添加存储器 免费样品  
DS2505 16K位只添加存储器 免费样品  
DS2506 64K位只添加存储器  
MAX31820 1-Wire环境温度传感器 免费样品  
MAX31820PAR 1-Wire Parasite-Power, Ambient Temperature Sensor 免费样品  
MAX31826 带有1Kb可锁存EEPROM的1-Wire数字温度传感器 免费样品  


下一步
EE-Mail 订阅EE-Mail,接收关于您感兴趣的新文档的自动通知。

© Aug 25, 2004, Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.
The content on this webpage is protected by copyright laws of the United States and of foreign countries. For requests to copy this content, contact us.

APP 244: Aug 25, 2004
参考图244, AN244, AN 244, APP244, Appnote244, Appnote 244

REFERENCE SCHEMATIC 244

Advanced 1-Wire Network Driver

By:  Bernhard Linke, Principal Member Technical Staff
May 30, 2003

Abstract: This document describes a microcontroller-based 1-Wire® master interface for reliable operation of small, medium, and large 1-Wire networks. This is accomplished using careful impedance matching, intelligent (software-controlled) active pullup, and slew-rate control. Software flow charts are included to assist the user in generating the correct 1-Wire timing for reset pulse, presence detect, write one, write zero, and read time slots using any suitable microcontroller. Scope traces illustrate the timing performance of the driver as well as transmission line effects as they appear with long cables.

Introduction

To a large degree, the reliability of a 1-Wire network depends on the characteristics of the driver circuit that the host computer uses to communicate with 1-Wire slave devices. This document describes a 1-Wire master interface that uses careful impedance matching and an "intelligent" (software-controlled) strong pullup to accomplish reliable operation in networks from very lightweight to very heavy, up to 500m equivalent size. For guidelines on how to create reliable 1-Wire networks see tutorial 148, "Guidelines for Reliable Long Line 1-Wire Networks".

Circuit Description

The network driver (Figure 1) consists of a pulldown section (Q1, R1, C1, R5) and a pullup section (Q2, R2, C2, R6). A third transistor and surrounding components (Q3, C4, R7) form a strong pullup section to supply extra power for devices such as EEPROMs, or temperature sensors. This "strong-pullup" function is not discussed in this document. Of the three transistors, a maximum of one is conducting at any time. When there is no 1-Wire communication ("idle" state), all three transistors are nonconducting.
Figure 1. Driver schematic.
Figure 1. Driver schematic.
The series path of R4, R1, and R3 provides the standard 1-Wire pullup to VCC. With this circuit, the total pullup resistance is approximately 1kΩ. This value applies when the 1-Wire line is idle. Since R4 is connected to the drain of Q1, the current flowing through it when Q1 is conducting does not affect the lowlevel voltage on the 1-Wire line. R4 + R1 + R3 together with the load or "weight" of the 1-Wire network determine the speed at which the voltage on the 1-Wire rises to 5V. Lowering R4 is not recommended since it raises the low-level voltage on the 1-Wire, which is undesirable. The Schottky diodes D1 and D2 eliminate spikes from electrostatic discharge (ESD) hits or cross coupling from other cabling nearby by conducting them to GND and VCC, respectively. R3 limits the ESD current and protects D1 and D2.
A special characteristic of this driver is the proper line termination of the 1-Wire cable on the master end. The category 5 unshielded twisted-pair data cable, which is recommended for 1-Wire applications, has a characteristic impedance of approximately 100Ω. Line termination is accomplished through R1 or R2 in series with R3 when Q1 or Q2 is conducting. C3 in series with R1 and R3 provide an AC-coupled termination for presence pulses. To adapt this driver to a different impedance, R1 and R2 need to be changed accordingly.
All three sections of this driver are slew-rate controlled when the associated transistor is turned on. R5 and C1 limit the slew rate when the driver pulls the 1-Wire line low, e.g., at the beginning of a time slot or a reset pulse. R6 and C2 limit the slew rate when the dynamic pullup becomes active. R7 and C4 limit the slew rate of the active pullup. The time constant of all three sections is 0.5µs. This value results in a slew rate of approximately 4V/µs. For details and scope traces see the Performance Examples section.

Circuit Operation

Disregarding the strong pullup circuitry (Q3, R7, C4) the driver requires three connections to a supervising microcontroller. These signals are called DRIVE, DPU, and SENSE. DRIVE is an active-high signal that initiates 1-Wire communication by turning on Q1. DPU is an active-low signal that activates the dynamic pullup Q2. SENSE is essentially a through-connection from the 1-Wire line to an input port of the microcontroller. 1-Wire ground and driver/microcontroller GND are the same. To perform 1-Wire communication it is necessary to properly generate the DRIVE and DPU signals and to read from the 1-Wire line through the SENSE input at the appropriate times. 1-Wire communication knows four cases of waveforms; these are reset/presence-detect sequence, and the three cases of communication time slots.

Reset Presence and Detect

All 1-Wire communication begins with a reset pulse followed by a window for the presence pulse. Figure 2 shows the 1-Wire waveform. To generate the reset pulse, the DRIVE signal is activated for a duration from A to B (see Figure 2). Starting at A, the voltage on the 1-Wire ramps down to 0V. As DRIVE gets inactive at B, the voltage on the 1-Wire starts rising, unless a 1-Wire device pulls the line low to signal an interrupt condition (see DS1904 and DS2417 data sheets, Type 2 Interrupt). To properly accommodate this interrupt case, the status of the 1-Wire is sampled repeatedly starting at C until the 1-Wire has reached a logic high level at D. Shortly after D, the dynamic pullup DPU is activated (point E). This quickly pulls the 1-Wire line to 5V. At F the dynamic pullup ends. Assuming that a 1-Wire device is present, it generates a presence pulse, which begins at G and ends at I. At H, somewhere between G and I, the status on the 1-Wire is sampled to test whether a 1-Wire device is present. As the presence pulse ends, the voltage on the 1-Wire starts rising towards 5V. At J the logic status of the 1-Wire is sampled again to detect whether a Type 1A interrupt (see DS1904/DS2417 data sheets) is signaled. Without interrupt, the logic state is high, as shown in Figure 2, and the dynamic pullup is activated again from K to L, which ensures that the 1-Wire line is fully recharged. With interrupt signal, the status sensed at J is a logic zero and another series of repeated sampling, exactly like that at the end of the reset pulse is necessary (i.e., going back to C and continue sampling). The interrupt pulse is understood as a reset pulse by other 1-Wire devices. Therefore they generate a presence pulse as the response, except for the interrupting device (i. e., when J is reached in the second pass, the logic status of the 1-Wire is high, as shown in Figure 2. In any case, the reset/presence-detect sequence ends at M, where a time slot begins.
Figure 2. Reset and presence-detect sequence.
Figure 2. Reset and presence-detect sequence.
Table 1. Recommended Timing Values for Reset/Presence Detect Sequence
A to B B to C D to E E to F E to H H to J J to K K to L L to M
480µs 0 to 2µs 0 to 2µs 8µs 72µs 240µs 0 to 2µs 60µs > 2µs
The sampling point H must be chosen to hit the presence pulse window, which is determined by the timing spread between the fastest and the slowest 1-Wire device present. Data sheets specify this window as tMSP. The timing reference for tMSP begins when the 1-Wire device detects logic-HIGH level after the reset pulse is over. In Figure 2 this reference point approximately coincides with E. The duration from A to C is equivalent to the sum of tF (fall time) and tRSTL (reset low time). In case of a Type 2 interrupt, the effective reset low time is the sum of A to B and the duration of the interrupt pulse (see DS1904 and DS2417 data sheets). The time from E to M is called reset high time tRSTH. Data sheets specify tRSTL and indicate how to determine the minimum duration of tRSTH. There is no maximum for tRSTH.

Communication Time Slots

Write Zero Time Slot

The write zero time slot transmits a 0-bit on the 1-Wire line. Figure 3 shows the 1-Wire waveform. To generate the write zero time slot, the DRIVE signal is activated for a duration from A to B0. Starting at A, the voltage on the 1-Wire ramps down to 0V. As DRIVE becomes inactive at B0, the voltage on the 1-Wire line starts rising. Shortly after B0, the dynamic pullup DPU is activated (point C0). This quickly pulls the 1-Wire line to 5V. At D0 the dynamic pullup ends. The next time slot or a reset/presence-detect sequence may follow at E0.
Figure 3. Write zero time slot.
Figure 3. Write zero time slot.
A write zero time slot does not require sampling the data line. Therefore Figure 3 does not show any sampling point. However, it is definitely permissible to sample the 1-Wire line at the same point in time as with a read time slot (Figure 4 or 5). The sampled logic state is always 0, indicating that the circuit actually writes a 0 to the 1-Wire line. The duration from A to C0 is equivalent to the sum of tF (fall time) and tW0L (write zero low time). The time from C0 to E0 is called recovery time tREC. Data sheets specify tW0L and a minimum value for tREC. The time from A to E0 is also referred to as time slot duration tSLOT.
Table 2. Recommended Timing Values for Write Zero Time Slot
A to B0 B0 to C0 C0 to D0 A to E0
60µs 2µs 16µs 80µs

Write One/Read Time Slot (Read One)

The write one time slot transmits a 1-bit on the 1-Wire line. Figure 4 shows the 1-Wire waveform. Reading a 1-bit from the 1-Wire line results in exactly the same waveform as writing a 1-bit. Therefore, the write one and read one case are combined and discussed as a single case. To generate the write one or read time slot, the DRIVE signal is activated for a duration from A to BR. Starting at A, the voltage on the 1-Wire ramps down to 0V. As DRIVE becomes inactive at BR, in the case of reading or writing a 1-bit, the voltage on the 1-Wire line starts rising. At CR the status on the 1-Wire is sampled. Since the bit read is a 1, the dynamic pullup is activated immediately, lasting from D1 to E1. This quickly pulls the 1-Wire line to 5V. The next time slot or a reset/presence-detect sequence may begin at F1.
Figure 4. Write one/read time slot (read one).
Figure 4. Write one/read time slot (read one).
The sampling point CR must be chosen to hit the master sampling window, which is determined by the timing of the fastest 1-Wire device. In data sheets this window is called tMSR. The timing reference for tMSR begins when the 1-Wire device detects a logic LOW-level after the beginning of the time slot. In Figure 4 this reference point is approximately A plus fall time tF. The duration from A to BR is equivalent to the sum of tF (fall time) and tRL (read low time). Data sheets specify tRL (equal to tW1L) and tMSR. The time from A to F1 is also referred to as time slot duration tSLOT.
Table 3. Recommended Timing Values for Write One/Read Time Slot (Read One)
A to BR A to CR CR to D1 D1 to E1 A to F1
9µs 18µs 0 to 2µs 60µs 80µs

Read Time Slot (Read Zero)

The read zero time slot is a read time slot that reads a 0-bit from the 1-Wire line. Figure 5 shows the 1-Wire waveform. To generate the read time slot, the DRIVE signal is activated for a duration from A to BR. Starting at A, the voltage on the 1-Wire ramps down to 0V. To send a 0-bit, a 1-Wire device starts pulling the 1-Wire line low after A but before BR. The voltage on the 1-Wire line, therefore, is first driven low by the 1-Wire master and then remains held at a logic low by one or more 1-Wire devices. When BR has occurred, the master pulldown is turned off. At CR the status on the 1-Wire is sampled. Since the bit read is a 0, the 1-Wire is sampled repeatedly. At D0 the 1-Wire device stops pulling the line low, which allows the voltage to rise. A subsequent sampling at E0 determines that the line has reached a logic-high level. Now the dynamic pullup is activated, lasting from F0 to G0. This quickly pulls the 1-Wire line to 5V. The next time slot or a reset/presence-detect sequence may begin at H0.
Figure 5. Read time slot (read zero).
Figure 5. Read time slot (read zero).
The sampling point CR is the same as with the write one/read time slot. The distance between the subsequent sampling points should be as short as the microcontroller and software allow. The time from A to H0 is also referred to as time slot duration tSLOT.
Table 4. Recommended Timing Values for Read Time Slot (Read Zero)
A to BR A to CR E0 to F0 CR to G0 A to H0
9µs 18µs 0 to 2µs 60µs 82µs

Practical Considerations

The structure of the signals that control the advanced 1-Wire network driver is relatively complex. The algorithms, however, are straightforward. For this reason, this driver is typically implemented in software, using a microcontroller that is fast enough to generate the signals in real-time. The flow charts given below assist in implementing the advanced driver using any suitable microcontroller that the user is familiar with. The execution time of every command at the user-specified crystal frequency must be taken into account to generate the proper timing.

Software Flow Charts

Figure 6
Note 1: Decrementing is necessary only if the timer is implemented as a counter rather than a real timer. The timer should expire after 5000µs.
Note 2: Presence and Short are logical variables that report to the superordinated program the result of the reset/presence-detect sequence. Interrupt is not reported as a variable since there is only one 1-Wire chip that can generate interrupts (DS1904 and DS2417) and the use of interrupts can considerably reduce the effective speed of a 1-Wire network.
Figure 7
This flow chart assumes that there is a logical input variable that controls whether to generate a write zero or read time slot. The write one time slot is the same as a read time slot. The bit variable BitValue reports the result of the time slot to the superordinated program.
Note 1: Decrementing is necessary only if the timer is implemented as a counter rather than a real timer. The timer should expire after 45µs.
Note 2: According to the flow chart, DPU is repeatedly activated before the timer expires. This is acceptable since activating a signal that is already active does not change the state of that signal. If desired, one can test whether DPU is already active, and if so, not activate it again while performing the loop.

Performance Examples

The scope traces on the next page show 1-Wire signals generated by the driver as described in this document. When verifying the signals, especially at the far end of a cable, it is necessary to use a differential probe, leaving the probe's ground reference floating. Otherwise the probe's ground connection would bypass the 1-Wire ground reference and change the topology of the system. If a differential probe is not available, one must isolate the oscilloscope-ground from mains-ground through a transformer or use a battery-operated oscilloscope. Alternatively one could disconnect the safety ground of the oscilloscope's power-supply cable.

Scope Traces

Reset/Presence Detect Sequence (as in Figure 2).
Reset/Presence Detect Sequence (as in Figure 2).
Write Zero Time Slot (as in Figure 3).
Write Zero Time Slot (as in Figure 3).
Write One/Read One Time Slot (as in Figure 4).
Write One/Read One Time Slot (as in Figure 4).
Read Zero Time Slot (as in Figure 5).
Read Zero Time Slot (as in Figure 5).
Falling edge at the far end of a 300m cable.
Falling edge at the far end of a 300m cable.
Same edge seen at the near end of the 300m cable.
Same edge seen at the near end of the 300m cable.
Note: A product similar to the Advanced 1-Wire Line Driver is manufactured by Southwind Enterprises. See http://ibuttonlink.com/ for technical details and ordering information.


1-Wire is a registered trademark of Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.



Related Parts
DS1822 Econo 1-Wire Digital Thermometer Free Samples  
DS18B20 Programmable Resolution 1-Wire Digital Thermometer Free Samples  
DS18B20-PAR 1-Wire Parasite-Power Digital Thermometer  
DS18S20 1-Wire Parasite-Power Digital Thermometer Free Samples  
DS18S20-PAR Parasite-Power Digital Thermometer  
DS1904 iButton RTC Free Samples  
DS1920 iButton Temperature Logger  
DS1921G Thermochron iButton Device  
DS1921H High-Resolution Thermochron iButton Devices  
DS1921Z High-Resolution Thermochron iButton Devices  
DS1961S iButton 1Kb EEPROM with SHA-1 Engine  
DS1963S iButton Monetary Device with SHA-1 Function  
DS1971 iButton 256-Bit EEPROM  
DS1973 iButton 4Kb EEPROM Free Samples  
DS1982 iButton 1Kb Add-Only Free Samples  
DS1982U UniqueWare iButton Device  
DS1985 iButton 16Kb Add-Only Free Samples  
DS1986 iButton 64Kb Add-Only  
DS1990A iButton Serial Number Free Samples  
DS1992 iButton 1Kb/4Kb Memory Free Samples  
DS1993 iButton 1Kb/4Kb Memory Free Samples  
DS1994 iButton 4Kb Memory Plus Time  
DS1995 iButton 16Kb Memory Free Samples  
DS1996 iButton 64Kb Memory Free Samples  
DS2401 Silicon Serial Number Free Samples  
DS2404 EconoRAM Time Chip  
DS2405 Addressable Switch  
DS2406 Dual Addressable Switch Plus 1Kb Memory Free Samples  
DS2415 1-Wire Time Chip  
DS2417 1-Wire Time Chip With Interrupt Free Samples  
DS2432 1Kb Protected 1-Wire EEPROM with SHA-1 Engine Free Samples  
DS2433 4Kb 1-Wire EEPROM  
DS2450 1-Wire Quad A/D Converter  
DS2502 1Kb Add-Only Memory Free Samples  
DS2505 16Kb Add-Only Memory Free Samples  
DS2506 64Kb Add-Only Memory  
MAX31820 1-Wire Ambient Temperature Sensor Free Samples  
MAX31820PAR 1-Wire Parasite-Power, Ambient Temperature Sensor  
MAX31826 1-Wire Digital Temperature Sensor with 1Kb Lockable EEPROM Free Samples  


Next Steps
EE-Mail Subscribe to EE-Mail and receive automatic notice of new documents in your areas of interest.
Download Download, PDF Format (215.9kB)  
Share
Other Channels  Email this page to an associate or friend. 



APP 244: May 30, 2003
REFERENCE SCHEMATIC 244, AN244, AN 244, APP244, Appnote244, Appnote 244

Share



More