设计指南1201

白皮书8: 1-Wire® SHA-1概述


摘要:讨论数据安全性时常常比较关注加密方式,而更有说服力、更有价值的方法则是认证。本文介绍了一种直接针对硬件、数据和用户的认证技术,本文对采用该项技术的1-Wire安全散列算法1 (SHA-1)器件进行了概要描述,并在文章的最后还给出了其他资料、工具包、实例作为参考,以方便后续的研究和开发。

简介

安全性是所有数字领域都普遍考虑的一个问题。当大家讨论数据安全性时通常关注的是加密方式,而更有说服力、更有价值的方法则是认证。由于所有的信息和通信都可归结为1和0,因此合法性和认证便成为问题关键所在。本文介绍了一种直接针对硬件、数据和用户的认证技术,本文对采用该项技术的1-Wire®安全散列算法1 (SHA-1:Secure Hash Algorithm 1)器件进行了概要描述,并在文章的最后还给出了大量的其他类型的文件、工具包、实例作为参考,以方便后续的研究和开发(专用术语、命令和代码将用斜体字表示,常用术语请参考应用笔记1099:“White Paper 4: Glossary of 1-Wire SHA-1 Terms”。)

散列

散列是信息的提炼,通常其长度要比信息小得多,且为一个固定长度。加密性强的散列一定是不可逆的,这就意味着通过散列结果,无法推出任何部分的原始信息。任何输入信息的变化,哪怕仅一位,都将导致散列结果的明显变化。,这称之为雪崩效应。散列还应该是防冲突的,即找不出具有相同散列结果的两条信息。具有这些特性的散列结果就可以用于验证信息是否被修改。

MAC

MAC (信息认证代码)就是一个散列结果,其中部分输入信息是密码,只有知道这个密码的参与者才能再次计算和验证MAC码的合法性。MAC的产生参见图1

图1. MAC的产生
图1. MAC的产生

通过这种方法,系统的参与者(知道密码)就可以验证信息和MAC的真实性,而不用再借助加密手段就可以判别那些0和1是不是可信。这是一个强大的技术,具有深远的应用领域(参见后面的应用部分)。

SHA-1

对于基于散列验证的系统来说,选择一加密性能好的散列是至关重要的。SHA是不可逆的、防冲突,并具有良好的雪崩效应。SHA-1是一个联邦信息出版号180-1和180-2 (FIPS 180-1和FIPS 180-2)指定的标准,SHA-1的杂散序列在目前FIPS推荐的各种方法中,是唯一目前在实际应用的一种,SHA-1还是ISO/IEC 10118-3指定的标准。Bruce Schneier在1996年John Wiley & Sons出版社出版的Applied Cryptography, Second Edition中说到“到目前为止还没有办法来对SHA进行密码攻击”。由于这个原因,选择了SHA-1。SHA-1可接纳一个和多个512位(64字节)的数据块,并生成一个160位(20字节)的散列结果。

应用

认证就是向主机证实某个器件、人和信息是有效和可靠的过程。利用MAC优点的认证技术称之为质询和响应。所谓“质询”就是由主机首先向打算认证的器件发出随机数据,随后包含在MAC计算中。这样,每次认证过程都是不同且不确定的。

什么能被认证? 答案就是如果两个设备都知道密码,则这两个设备之间的信息就可以认证。一个移动的令牌可以授权给一道门,以允许进入受控的房间。表1给出了包括主机和认证对象的潜在应用领域。

表1. MAC应用
Application Host Authentication Target
Device authentication Equipment Peripheral device with embedded token
Physical access control Electronic door lock
Building access
Filing cabinet lock
Safe
Portable token
User access control Workstation Portable token and user
Software authorization PC Software
Equipment Firmware
Portable, attached, or embedded token
Electronic cash (eCash) Vending machine
Parking meter
Toll booth
Pay phone
Gaming
Portable token

创建一个信任的令牌

上述大多应用的关键部分就是移动令牌。要利用SHA-1 MAC来进行认证,一定要创建一个值得信任的客户端,来进行密码的保存和MAC的计算。这个客户端一定要在结构上是安全的、坚固的,还能快速执行SHA-1的各种操作。至今,Maxim已有十多年制造iButton®移动令牌的历史,现在,可提供与SHA-1相兼容的多种产品;还可提供不采用iButton形式,而采用芯片形式的产品(参见图2)。

图2. 1-Wire SHA-1器件
图2. 1-Wire SHA-1器件

关于令牌的应用领域和使用方法,结合上下文,这里仅作简要的介绍。图3是完整的服务框图。服务提供者(例如:销售公司)把带有效数据的令牌分配给用户,用户再把这些令牌应用到服务控制单元(SCU) (例如:糖果机),并作为服务的一部分对这些令牌进行认证,使数据(电子货币、eCash)生效,并可根据需要进行更新。SCU必须也进行SHA-1 MAC计算,这可通过内部协处理器来实现。关于令牌的一些特殊应用领域、特性和SCU将在下一节进行解释说明。

图3. 服务
图3. 服务

有两种不同的1-Wire SHA-1的令牌。DS1963S有8个不同的SHA-1的密钥和512字节的非易失性(NV) RAM用户数据空间,质优价好,DS1963S还可在SCU中用作协处理器来计算主机边全部的SHA-1 MAC,还具有额外的安全性能,可全部从SCU处理器来移去密码。用来对服务数据(主机签名密钥)和令牌认证(主机认证密码)的密码安全的保存在DS1963S的协处理器中。DS1963S中有内置锂电池为NV RAM提供备用电源,如果把该电源拿走,即使只是很短的一段时间(例如物理攻击期间),内部的密码和内容将被消除。

DS1963S可支持7个不同的动态服务记录,每个服务记录都有属于自己的密字,保留第8个密钥,用于指示协处理器类型的功能。该器件还包含8个通用的32字节的数据页,可用于静态服务记录。这些额外的数据页都有与之关联的密钥,但没有写周期计数器。写周期计数器是一个只读的、不滚动的页写计数器,可用作检测写操作。写计数可用来避免对系统的某些攻击。

为每一个服务记录,DS1963S采用两个不同的MAC。 第一个是由1-Wire令牌产生,并认证给系统使用(唯一认证密钥)。第二个MAC是由SCU主机创建的,包含在服务记录中,用来对服务数据进行确认,这个MAC也称为服务数据签名。用来创建这个签名(主机签名密钥)的密钥不保存在用户设备中,仅保存在SCU或其协处理器中。

其他两个器件,DS1961S和DS2432,本质上完全相同,仅采用两种不同的封装形式。DS1961S采用标准的iButton封装,DS2432采用小型的TSOC封装或者采用芯片级封装(2.5mm x 1.5mm)。 这两款器件采用EEPROM技术而不是非易失性RAM,这样封装内就不再需要锂电池。在这些器件中,4个分页共用一个密码。对DS1963S进行写操作没有任何限制,然而,DS1961S/DS2432的写操作则需要对这个器件进行MAC认证后才能执行,这对器件的写操作起到有效的保护作用。由于写操作只限于那些知道密钥得到认证的SCU,这些器件就没有了写周期计数器,也就无需内嵌在数据中的MAC签名。由于只有一个认证密码,DS1961S/DS2432故只能支持一个服务提供者。但是由于该器件有4个分页,因此服务提供者可以进行4种不同的服务。

注意:除了移去了附加的最后常数,1-Wire器件产生的SHA-1结果还是符合FIPS-180的规范标准。在FIPS 180-1中,器件在计算出每个数据块的值后,就在计算结果的后面加上这些常数。由于1-Wire器件仅有一个数据块,加入这些常数并没有增加任何安全性,因此就可以移去,从而加快MAC硬件的计算速度。如果一定要求符合FIPS 180-1的标准,SCU就需要在后面加上这些常数。

图3给出了1-Wire令牌有关的存储器和特殊寄存器,用于验证某个服务记录。每个令牌包含一个64位的唯一器件ID,通过激光写入ROM。由于每个器件都有自己唯一的ROM ID,这个ID就可作为密钥计算的一部分,这样就可以使每个器件上的认证密钥是唯一的(唯一认证密钥)。在验证时,像SCU这样的主机必须要根据主机认证密钥ROM ID中来重新计算唯一认证密钥。每个器件还包括分配一个临时的存储器空间用来存放SCU发送的认证“质询”。“质询”是一个随机数据,由SCU产生,以确保每个认证序列的唯一性。页码是数据信息在存储器中的物理位置。

1-Wire器件可以获得每个字段,并通过内嵌的SHA-1进行处理,返回用于认证的MAC。SCU通过计算唯一认证密钥来获取同样的信息,用以验证MAC的正确与否。图4描述了在器件内部产生认证MAC的过程。

图4. 令牌认证
图4. 令牌认证

由于DS1963S的写操作没有限制,因此服务记录中就必须包含用一个服务数据签名,用于验证数据的有效性。MAC与服务数据一起保存,这样就可就保证这些数据的有效性。图5阐述了服务数据签名的产生和验证都需要些什么样的的信息。图6是SCU和DS1963S令牌的一个完整的事务处理过程,图7则给出了DS1961S令牌的事务处理过程。

图5. DS1963S服务数据确认
图5. DS1963S服务数据确认

图6. DS1963S典型事务处理流程
图6. DS1963S典型事务处理流程

图7.  DS1961S事务处理流程
图7. DS1961S事务处理流程

更多信息

有许多资料可帮助我们很好地理解和实现一些基于1-Wire SHA-1硬件的系统。这些资料信息可以分成三类:理论应用详述API (见图8)。其中,理论知识主要讨论了如何用一些算法来保证电子货币(electronic cash)的安全,而应用详述则描述了采用1-Wire器件来完成验证和电子货币所需通信过程的每一步和每一位。API资源有助于找到合适的切入点,顺利开始使用SHA-1器件。其API源代码对于定制应用,也是一个有用的开发工具。

图8. 资料概述
图8. 资料概述

表2. 理论
Electronic Cash and User Authentication using Maxim DS1963S
该指南详细介绍了电子支付和SHA-1 1-Wire器件的特点,从最基本内容开始,建立起密码学的基本概念,并对电子货币(eCash)系统的移动令牌的必需设备进行了说明。
文件 使用指南(Power Point)
URL http://files.maximintegrated.com/sia_bu/public/ecash_sha_tutorial.ppt (4MB)
Glossary of 1-Wire SHA-1 Terms
该文件中给出了一些与1-Wire SHA-1器件应用有关的术语,这些器件有DS1963S, DS1961S, DS2432。
文件 白皮书4
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/1099
Challenge and Response with 1-Wire SHA devices
该应用笔记描述了质询和响应的基本原理,给出了一个1-Wire SHA器件的实例,还给出了可供下载的Java™ 1-Wire API示例代码。
文件 应用笔记190
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/190
SHA iButton Secrets and Challenges
该文件概括总结了选择一个好的密钥和真正随机质询的重要性,列举了一些避免系统出现薄弱环节的规则。
文件 应用笔记152
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/152
为什么1-Wire SHA-1器件是安全的?
介绍了Service 1-Wire SHA-1的用法,简述了Service可能受到的攻击,以及如何利用1-Wire器件本身特点或推荐的方案来防止可能遭受的攻击。
文件 白皮书3
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/1098
Passwords in SHA Authentication
该文件介绍了一些1-Wire SHA-1器件中如何与密码或PIN配合对用户进行认证的技术。
文件 应用笔记154
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/154
Information technology - Security techniques - Hash-Functions - Part 3
ISO标准陈述了几种散列标准,其中包括SHA-1,这个标准接着作为其它与MAC生成相关的ISO标准的参考。
文件 ISO/IEC 10118-3标准(PDF需购买)
URL https://webstore.ansi.org/Standards/ISO/ISOIEC101182018
Secure Hash Standard
联邦信息公共标准(FIPS)规定的SHA-1标准
文件 FIPS 180-1
URL http://www.itl.nist.gov/fipspubs/fip180-1.htm
Applied Cryptography, Second Edition
一本应用密码技术和理论的通用教科书。第18章介绍了包括SHA-1的单向散列函数。
文件 Bruce Schneier, John Wiley & Sons, 1996 (Print)
URL http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA/WileyTitle/productCd-0471117099.html
Handbook of Applied Cryptography
一本极为详细地介绍了包括散列技术在内的各类密码技术信息的教科书。第9章主要介绍了散列和数据安全性。
文件 A. Menezes, P. van Oorschot, and S. Vanstone, CRC Press, 1996 (Print, PS, PDF)
URL http://www.cacr.math.uwaterloo.ca/hac/


表3. 实现详述
SHA iButton 1-Wire API概述
详细介绍了创建一个完整的SHA-1 eCash系统API所需的步骤。它可以指导用户如何把API添加到Maxim开发包里。
文件 应用笔记157
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/157
Maxim's Digital Monetary Certificates
阐述了Maxim API中用来表示货币账号的标准证书数据格式,其格式包括数据和相关的MAC码的存储位置。
文件 应用笔记151
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/151
SHA-1 Devices used in Small Cash Systems
很详细地介绍了1-Wire器件的认证和eCash事务处理的步骤,为eCash系统应用和识别提供了一个极好的的参考资料。
文件 白皮书1
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/1820
DS1963S SHA iButton
DS1963S的数据资料中包含了该器件的全部命令和工作条件。需通过申请获取该数据资料。
文件 数据资料
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/datasheet/index.mvp/id/2822
带有SHA-1引擎保护EEPROM的1k位iButton: DS1961S
DS1961S的数据资料中包含了该器件的全部命令和工作条件。需通过申请获取该数据资料。
文件 数据资料
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/datasheet/index.mvp/id/3557
1-Wire File Structure
该文件给出了那些符合标准的1-Wire文件结构的器件,用于API的eCash证书和Maxim提供的相关技术文档。
文件 应用笔记114
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/114


表4. 应用编程接口(API)
1-Wire Public Domain Kit
1-Wire公共开发包是一个便携‘C’代码库,里面的例子涵盖了包括iButton在内的几乎所有的1-Wire器件,其中就包括了完成简单认证的程序和完整的eCash系统的程序。所包含的全部资源无需授权。
文件 kit (zip)
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/products/ibutton/software/1wire/wirekit.cfm
1-Wire API for Java Software Development Kit
从最简单的应用到非常负责灵活的、面向对象的应用,这个面向Java的1-Wire介绍了用Java语言来设计完成1-Wire产品的基础知识,还给出了可以实现完整eCash系统的示例。全部资源无需授权就可使用,且支持J2ME (Java 2 Micro Edition)。
文件 kit (tar-aip, tgz)
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/products/interface/one-wire/software-tools/api-java-sdk.html
DS1963S SHA 1-Wire API 用户指南
该指南解释了如何在1-Wire Public Domain 'C'和Maxim提供的面向Java 的1-Wire API中运用DS1963S eCash实现工具。
文件 应用笔记156
URL https://www.maximintegrated.com/cn/app-notes/index.mvp/id/156


1-Wire是Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.的注册商标。

iButton是Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.的注册商标。

Java是Oracle及其附属公司的注册商标和注册服务标志。



相关型号
DS1961S 带有SHA-1引擎的iButton 1Kb EEPROM  
DS1963S 带有SHA-1功能的iButton金融器件  
DS2432 1Kb、保护型1-Wire EEPROM,带有SHA-1引擎 免费样品  
DS28E01-100 1Kb、保护型1-Wire EEPROM,带有SHA-1引擎 免费样品  
DS28E02 1-Wire SHA-1认证器,具有1Kb EEPROM,工作在1.8V 免费样品  
DS28E10 1-Wire SHA-1认证 免费样品  


下一步
EE-Mail 订阅EE-Mail,接收关于您感兴趣的新文档的自动通知。

© Jul 20, 2004, Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.
The content on this webpage is protected by copyright laws of the United States and of foreign countries. For requests to copy this content, contact us.

APP 1201: Jul 20, 2004
设计指南1201, AN1201, AN 1201, APP1201, Appnote1201, Appnote 1201

TUTORIAL 1201

White Paper 8: 1-Wire® SHA-1 Overview

Sep 10, 2002

Abstract: While discussions of data security often focus on encryption, an arguably more valuable aspect is authentication. This paper presents a straightforward technique for digital authentication of hardware, data, and users. It goes on to provide an overview of the 1-Wire Secure Hash Algorithm 1 (SHA-1) devices that use this technique. Finally, it provides references to other documents, kits, and examples for continued research and development.

Introduction

Security is a pervasive problem in all things digital. While discussions of data security often focus on encryption, an arguably more valuable aspect is authentication. Since information and communication all boil down to transient ones and zeros, their validity and authenticity can come into question. This paper presents a straightforward technique for authentication of hardware, data, and users. It goes on to provide an overview of the 1-Wire® Secure Hash Algorithm 1 (SHA-1) devices that use this technique. Finally it provides copious references to other documents, kits, and examples for continued research and development. (Special terms, commands, or codes are shown in italics for clarity. A glossary of terms can be found in application note 1099, "White Paper 4: Glossary of 1-Wire SHA-1 Terms.")

Hash

A hash is a distillation of a message. This distillation is typically much smaller than the message and is a constant size. A cryptographically strong hash must be nonreversible, meaning that by looking at the hash result there is no way to derive any part of the original message. It must also change significantly with any small change, even a single bit, in the input message. This is called the avalanche effect. The hash should also be collision-resistant, meaning that it is impractical to find two messages with the same hash. A hash with these properties can be used to verify that a message has not been altered.

MAC

A MAC (message authentication code) is a hash where a portion of the input message is secret. Only participants that know the secret can re-compute and verify the authenticity of the MAC. See Figure 1 for MAC generation.

Figure 1. MAC generation.
Figure 1. MAC generation.

Participants in a system (secret known) can therefore verify a message and MAC combination to be authentic. The transient ones and zeros mentioned earlier are now trusted without resorting to encryption. This is a powerful technique that has far-reaching applications (see Applications section below).

SHA-1

Selection of a cryptographically strong hash function is critical for the success of a hash-based authentication scheme. SHA-1 is nonreversible, collision-resistant, and has a good avalanche effect. SHA is a standard specified in Federal Information Publication 180-1 and 180-2 (FIPS 180-1, FIPS 180-2). The SHA series hashes are currently the only FIPS-approved method. SHA-1 is also specified in ISO/IEC 10118-3. According to Bruce Schneier in Applied Cryptography, Second Edition, John Wiley & Sons, 1996, "There are no known cryptographic attacks against SHA". For this reason, SHA-1 was selected. SHA-1 takes in one or more blocks of 512 bits (64 bytes) and creates a 160-bit (20-byte) hash.

Applications

Authentication is the process of proving to a host that a device, person, or message is valid and authentic. The authentication technique that takes advantage of a MAC is called challenge and response. A challenge is random data that is presented by a host to the device to be authenticated. The challenge is then included in the MAC calculation. This allows for every authentication session to be different and non-deterministic.

What can be authenticated? A message between two pieces of equipment could be authenticated if the secret is known by both pieces. A portable token could be authenticated to a door to allow access to a controlled room. See Table 1 below for a list of potential applications including both the host and authentication target.

Table 1. Applications using MAC
Application Host Authentication Target
Device authentication Equipment Peripheral device with embedded token
Physical access control Electronic door lock
Building access
Filing cabinet lock
Safe
Portable token
User access control Workstation Portable token and user
Software authorization PC Software
Equipment Firmware
Portable, attached, or embedded token
Electronic cash (eCash) Vending machine
Parking meter
Toll booth
Pay phone
Gaming
Portable token

Creating a Trusted Token

The key component to most of the above applications is some kind of portable electronic token. To perform authentication with an SHA-1 MAC, a trusted client must be created that can securely keep the secret and compute the MAC. The client must be physically secure, rugged, and be able to perform the SHA-1 operation quickly. Maxim has been making the iButton® portable tokens for over 10 years and now provides models with SHA-1 capability. Where the iButton form factor is not required a chip version is also available (see Figure 2).

Figure 2. 1-Wire SHA-1 devices.
Figure 2. 1-Wire SHA-1 devices.

Discussions about applications and use of these tokens are simplified when provided in a context. Figure 3 illustrates a complete service. A service provider (e.g., vending company) would deploy tokens with valid data to their user base. The user would take the token to a service control unit (SCU) (e.g., candy machine) to have it authenticated as part of the service and the data validated (electronic cash, eCash) and optionally updated. The SCU must also be able to compute the SHA-1 MACs. This can be performed in an internal coprocessor. Specific fields and features of the token and the SCU will be explained in the following sections.

Figure 3. Service.
Figure 3. Service.

There are two different 1-Wire SHA-1 tokens. The DS1963S is the premium part with eight different SHA-1 secrets and 512 bytes of nonvolatile (NV) RAM user data space. The DS1963S can also be used as a coprocessor in the SCU to compute all of the necessary host-side SHA-1 MACs. This has the added security of removing the secrets from the SCU processor entirely. The secrets for both verifying the service data (master signing secret) and authenticating the token (master authentication secret) are securely kept in the DS1963S coprocessor. An internal lithium cell backs up the NV RAM inside the DS1963S. Removing this power source even for a short time (during a physical attack for instance) will clear the secrets and contents.

The DS1963S can support seven different dynamic service records, each with its own secret. The eighth secret is reserved for coprocessor-type functions. This device also contains eight more general-purpose 32-byte data pages that can be used for static service records. These extra pages have a secret associated with them but do not have a write-cycle counter. A write-cycle counter is a read-only, non-rolling-over page write counter that is used for detection of writes. The write-cycle is used to avert certain attacks to the system.

The DS1963S uses two different MACs for each service record. The first one is generated by the 1-Wire token and authenticates it to the system (unique authentication secret). The second MAC is created by the SCU host and included in the service record and is used to validate it. This MAC is called the service data signature. The secret used to create this signature (master signing secret) does not reside on the user device: it only exists within the SCU or its coprocessor.

The other two devices, DS1961S and DS2432, are essentially the same devices in different packages. The DS1961S comes in the standard iButton package and the DS2432 is in a small TSOC package or in the chip-scale package (2.5mm by 1.5mm). These two devices use EEPROM technology instead of NV RAM, thus allowing a package without a lithium cell. They have only one secret associated with all four pages. There is no write restriction on the DS1963S. However, writing to the DS1961S/DS2432 requires presenting an authentication MAC to the device. This effectively write protects the device. Since write access is restricted to SCUs that know the authentication secret, the devices do not have a write-cycle counter and do not need a MAC signature embedded in the data. The DS1961S/DS2432 can only support one service provider since there is only one authentication secret. This service provider could install up to four different services since the device has four pages.

Note that the SHA-1 result created by the 1-Wire devices conforms to the FIPS 180-1 specification, except the additional final constants were removed. In the FIPS-180 specification, these constants are added to the result after each block is computed. Since the 1-Wire devices only do one block, adding these constants don't add any security and was removed to speed up the MAC computation in hardware. If FIPS 180-1 compliance is required, the SCU can add the constants back on.

Figure 3 also shows the pertinent memory and special registers of the 1-Wire tokens that will be used in verification of one service record. Each token contains a 64-bit unique device ID that is lasered into ROM. Since each device has this unique ROM ID, it can be used as one component in the calculation of the secret to make the authentication secret on each device unique (unique authentication secret). A host such as the SCU must re-compute the unique authentication secret from the master authentication secret and the ROM ID when an authentication is done. Each device also contains a temporary memory location to hold the authentication challenge sent by the SCU. A challenge is random data created by the SCU to make each authentication sequence unique. The page number is the physical location in memory that the data message resides in.

The 1-Wire devices take each of the fields and internally run them through the built-in SHA-1 engine, and then return the MAC for authentication. The SCU takes the same information using the calculated unique authentication secret and verifies that the MAC is correct. Figure 4 shows how the authentication MAC is constructed inside the device.

Figure 4. Token authentication.
Figure 4. Token authentication.

Since the DS1963S has unrestricted write access, the service record must include a service data signature for validation of the data. This MAC is saved along with the service data and used to verify that the account data is valid. Figure 5 shows what information is put in to produce and verify the service data signature. Figure 6 shows a complete transaction with the SCU and a DS1963S token and Figure 7 shows the transaction for the DS1961S token.

Figure 5. DS1963S service data validation.
Figure 5. DS1963S service data validation.

Figure 6. DS1963S typical transaction flow.
Figure 6. DS1963S typical transaction flow.

Figure 7. DS1961S typical transaction flow.
Figure 7. DS1961S typical transaction flow.

More Information

There is a large number of documents available to aid in understanding and implementing a system based on 1-Wire SHA-1 devices. The information in these documents can be divided into three categories: Theory, Implementation Details, and APIs (see Figure 8). The Theory resources discuss how electronic cash can be made secure with the algorithms available. The Implementation Details describe every step and bit of communication to accomplish the authentication and electronic cash operations with 1-Wire devices. The API's resources are useful to jump right in and start using the SHA-1 devices. The source code to the APIs can also be a useful development tool for custom implementations.

Figure 8. Resource overview.
Figure 8. Resource overview.

Table 2. Theory
Electronic Cash and User Authentication using Maxim DS1963S
Tutorial presentation containing a detailed introduction to electronic cash and the features of the SHA-1 1-Wire devices. It starts at the very beginning and builds up the necessary cryptographic concepts and required facilities of a portable token in an electronic cash (eCash) system.
Document Tutorial (Power Point)
URL http://files.maximintegrated.com/sia_bu/public/ecash_sha_tutorial.ppt (4MB)
Glossary of 1-Wire SHA-1 Terms
This document contains a list of terms pertaining to the use of 1-Wire SHA-1 devices such as the DS1963S, DS1961S, and DS2432.
Document White Paper 4
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/1099
Challenge and Response with 1-Wire SHA devices
This application note describes the basic mechanisms of challenge and response. It provides an example implementation using the 1-Wire SHA devices. The example code using the 1-Wire API for Java™ is available for download.
Document Application Note 190
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/190
SHA iButton Secrets and Challenges
Overview of the importance of selecting good secrets and truly random challenges. This paper provides several rules of thumb to avoid weaknesses in a system.
Document Application Note 152
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/152
Why are 1-Wire SHA-1 Devices Secure?
Presents a usage scenario of 1-Wire SHA-1 devices in a Service. Outlines possible attacks on the Service and how the features of the 1-Wire devices or a recommended usage procedure thwart them.
Document White Paper 3
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/1098
Passwords in SHA Authentication
This document describes a technique where a password or PIN can be used with 1-Wire SHA-1 devices to authenticate a user with the device.
Document Application Note 154
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/154
Information technology - Security techniques - Hash-Functions - Part 3
ISO standard presenting various hash standards including SHA-1. This standard is then referenced in other ISO standards relating to MAC creation.
Document ISO/IEC 10118-3 Standard (PDF for purchase)
URL http://webstore.ansi.org/ansidocstore/product.asp?sku=INCITS%2FISO%2FIEC+10118%2D3%2D2003
Secure Hash Standard
Federal Information Publication Standard (FIPS) specifying the SHA-1 standard.
Document FIPS 180-1
URL www.itl.nist.gov/fipspubs/fip180-1.htm
Applied Cryptography, Second Edition
Good general introduction text on cryptography techniques and theory. One way hash functions including SHA-1 are described in Chapter 18.
Document Bruce Schneier, John Wiley & Sons, 1996 (Print)
URL www.wiley.com/WileyCDA/WileyTitle/productCd-0471117099.html
Handbook of Applied Cryptography
Extremely detailed text covering various cryptographic techniques including hashes. Chapter 9 specifically covers hashes and data security.
Document A. Menezes, P. van Oorschot, and S. Vanstone, CRC Press, 1996 (Print, PS, PDF)
URL www.cacr.math.uwaterloo.ca/hac/


Table 3. Implementation Details
SHA iButton 1-Wire API Overview
A detailed overview of the steps necessary to create an API for a complete SHA-1 eCash system. This is the guide that was used to create the APIs put forth in the developer's kits by Maxim.
Document Application Note 157
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/157
Maxim's Digital Monetary Certificates
Explains the standard certificate data format used in Maxim's APIs to represent a monetary account. The format includes the location of the data and the MAC associated with it.
Document Application Note 151
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/151
SHA-1 Devices used in Small Cash Systems
Very detailed step by step operation descriptions to do authentication and eCash transactions on 1-Wire devices. This provides an excellent reference for implementation and verification of an eCash system.
Document White Paper 1
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/1820
DS1963S SHA iButton
The data sheet for the DS1963S contains all of the commands and operating conditions for the device. This data sheet is only available on request.
Document Data Sheet
URL www.maximintegrated.com/datasheet/index.mvp/id/2822
DS1961S 1kb Protected EEPROM iButton With SHA-1 Engine
The data sheet for the DS1961S contains all of the commands and operating conditions for the device. This data sheet is only available on request.
Document Data sheet
URL www.maximintegrated.com/datasheet/index.mvp/id/3557
1-Wire File Structure
The eCash certificate that is used in the APIs and documentation provided by Maxim are contained in a file on the device that conforms to a standard 1-Wire file structure.
Document Application Note 114
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/114


Table 4. Application Programmer Interfaces (APIs)
1-Wire Public Domain Kit
The 1-Wire Public Domain kit is a portable 'C' library with extensive examples covering almost all 1- Wire devices including iButtons. There are examples to implement simple authentication and a complete eCash system. The complete source is provided under a very liberal license.
Document kit (zip)
URL www.maximintegrated.com/products/ibutton/software/1wire/wirekit.cfm
1-Wire API for Java Software Development Kit
The 1-Wire API for Java was designed from the ground up to be a very robust, highly object-oriented foundation for building 1-Wire applications in Java. It has examples to implement a complete eCash system. The complete source is provided under a very liberal license and supports J2ME (Java 2 Micro Edition).
Document kit (tar-aip, tgz)
URL www.maximintegrated.com/products/ibutton/software/1wire/1wire_api.cfm
DS1963S SHA 1-Wire API Users Guide
This guide explains how to use the DS1963S eCash implementations in the 1-Wire Public Domain 'C' and 1-Wire API for Java provided by Maxim.
Document Application Note 156
URL www.maximintegrated.com/app-notes/index.mvp/id/156


1-Wire is a registered trademark of Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.

iButton is a registered trademark of Maxim Integrated Products, Inc.

Java is a registered trademark and registered service mark of Oracle and/or its affiliates.



Related Parts
DS1961S iButton 1Kb EEPROM with SHA-1 Engine  
DS1963S iButton Monetary Device with SHA-1 Function  
DS2432 1Kb Protected 1-Wire EEPROM with SHA-1 Engine Free Samples  
DS28E01-100 1Kb Protected 1-Wire EEPROM with SHA-1 Engine Free Samples  
DS28E02 1-Wire SHA-1 Authenticated 1Kb EEPROM with 1.8V Operation Free Samples  
DS28E10 1-Wire SHA-1 Authenticator Free Samples  


Next Steps
EE-Mail Subscribe to EE-Mail and receive automatic notice of new documents in your areas of interest.
Download Download, PDF Format (334.1kB)  
Share
Other Channels  Email this page to an associate or friend. 



APP 1201: Sep 10, 2002
TUTORIAL 1201, AN1201, AN 1201, APP1201, Appnote1201, Appnote 1201

Share



More